Five Rivers Cycle Path

This picturesque route is characterised by five rivers: the River Vils, Naab, Pegnitz, Altmühl and Danube. Enjoy some of Bavaria’s best known cultural and scenic gems, for example the old imperial city of Nuremberg, the start of the Danube at Kelheim and the beautiful Regensburg cathedral. You’ll follow sturdy cycle paths where the cycling practically does itself, so you can enjoy the wonders along the way. Aside from the cultural and scenic sights, it wouldn’t be a trip to Bavaria without trying its world-famous beer!

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £789.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Nuremburg, explore this city with a rich history dating back to over 1000 years ago. Some of the highlights include the Grande Emperor Castle, famous churches, and museums. You will also find old, traditional houses in the old town as well as the town’s wall which circles 5km around the middle part of the city.

After having a taste of the history of Nuremberg, it’s time to set off on your adventure! Pedal by the Ludwig-Danube-Main Canal, a listed building, and of course beautiful landscapes all the way until you arrive in Neumarkt in the Upper Palatinate. Neumarkt has a fascinating castle ruin that takes throne on a mountain side. Pay a visit to the old town which has some beautiful church towers.

Loop the oxbow lakes of the Altmühl, which are a truly unique sight. Then by way of Beilngries and Dietfurt reach of Riedenburg, a town that is situated at the bottom of the ruins of three castles: Taschenstein, Rabenstein and Rosenburg.

There is a day of truly unique natural beauty ahead of you, at the Danube breakthrough near Kelheim. You can get a close-up experience by boat for an additional cost. Back to culture attractions with the Weltenburg Monastery and there is also an unmissable chance to visit the oldest monastery in the world (not included)! Time to head to Regensburg along the Danube and via Bad Abbach. Acquaint yourself in the city by walking over the cobbled pavements whilst admiring the historical buildings.

Time to leave Regensburg and head along the River Naab where the surrounding area includes meadows, forests, and fields. On either side of the river, you can see jura rocks which reach up to 100m high. You will reach the point where the Naab River meets the Vils river at the castle ruins of Kallmünz. If you are a culture vulture, you should make a stop at Hammerherrenschloss in Theuern before heading to Amberg.

Time for a climb to the up-hill destination of Sulzbath-Rosenburg, a 1000-year-old town that was built on huge rocks. After your stop in this town, you will cycle through one of the regions with the most forests in Germany, the “Hersbrucker Schweiz”. Discover the old centre for hop-growing and trade in the town of Hersburg. On the some of the rooves you can still see traditional wooden carvings to remind you of the hop-growing history.

Find your way out of the town via the famous “watergate”, you’ll then cycle along the river Pegnitz which finds itself in a gorgeous valley. The whole time Castle Henfendfeld will be in view as if it is watching over you. You may also want to pay a visit to the town of Lauf at the River Pegnitz, also known as the “gate to Franconia”. Via beautiful scenery and copious trees, you will eventually end up back in Nuremburg.

Have one last breakfast and then either set off home or extend your trip!

Route large icon

Route overview

Start point: Nuremburg

End: Nuremburg

Distance: Approx. 295 km

We recommend attendees to be young and those in good physical condition due to the more difficult parts of the route.

What’s included

  • 7 nights with breakfast in the local 3*-level
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Luggage transport from hotel to hotel
  • Cycle route description with maps (1 x per room )
  • 7 day Service Hotline

Not included

  • City or visitor‘s tax (if payable)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve