Rhine Cycle Route – From Arnhem to Rotterdam

Our wonderful adaptation of the Rhine Cycle Route which encompasses the best highlights for you. The Rhine Cycle Route covers more than 1200 km and passes through numerous countries, while our version follows the bike line from Arnhem to Rotterdam. Some of the views on the way include classical palaces, walled towns, and typical Dutch landscapes. As an established route it is fully signposted following cycle paths. Some historical towns you will visit are Oosterbeek, Wijk bij Duurstede, Buren, Gorinchem and Dordrecht.

Calender 6 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £749.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Acquaint yourself with your starting city of Arnhem, famous for the battle of Arnhem in WW2. Today not only can you learn about its war history, but also see several new attractions, such as: The zoo, an incredible open-air museum and beautiful Sonsbeek Park. If you are a nature lover and want to venture out of the city, it is also located very close to Hoge Veluwe and Veluwezoom, two national parks.

Head into the National Park of Veluwezoom, characterised by woods, beautiful fields and a 52-meter hill called Grebbeberg. An eery reminder of the events that took place here during WW2, there is a military cemetery. The Rhine in the Netherlands divides into numerous rivers, from this point you will follow the Nederrijn (Lower Rhine) to Amerongen Castle, which has beautiful gardens surrounding it. The destination for today is Wijk bij Duurstede, which used to be the most important Northern European centre of trade. This was around 800 AD and its name at the time was Dorestad. Take a stroll around the historical centre and perhaps even sit and enjoy a drink in an outdoor café.

Wijk bij Duurstede finds itself at a tie-up of waterways. The one you’ll be crossing first is the Lower-Rhine, which you’ll experience on the Wijksee Veer ferry. Your destination will be Betuwe, which is the number one district for fruit growing! You’ll pass through the historical town of Buren and reach a new river, the Linge River. You’ll go along this river to the Glass Town Leerdam. This is home to a glass museum; crystal factory and you can get stuck in with a glass-blowing workshop! On this night you’ll have a choice for your over-night stay, either in Leerdam or Asperen which lie on different sides of the Linge.

Today is a jam-packed day! Your hotel is just a stone throw away from Gorinchem, which offers a beautiful historical centre for you to visit. From here it’s time to hop onto a ferry and head once again to Woudrichem, a town known for its fortress. This is a fast-paced day so it’s time for your next stop of Biesbosch National Park, which offers a truly unique experience. In this park you can take the “De Biesbosch” ferry which transports you across the Nieuwe Merwede River and into the town of Dordrecht, here there is a beautiful harbour quarter to be seen. For the final part of the day a waterbus will take you across the Lower Merwede to the town of Papendrecht.

As you set off on your final day of adventures, your first destination will be UNESCO world heritage site Kinderdijk, you will get here via the Alblasserwaard polder. This sight truly captures the essence of a Dutch fairy-tale with its numerous polder windmills! The route will then lead to the final destination of Rotterdam. If you are feeling enthusiastic, you can continue to follow the Rhine for an extra 30km all the way to the North Sea and town of Hoek. Once you arrive here you can easily get back to Rotterdam by train. Enjoy your time in Rotterdam by visiting the Markthal (Market hall), this is one of the newest attractions.

Time to say goodbye to your Dutch adventure! You’ll have a lovely breakfast at the hotel and then part ways with your tour.

Route large icon

Route overview

Start point: Arnhem, Netherlands

End: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Distance: approx. 200km

Mostly on cycle lakes, well sign posted.

What’s included

  • Overnight in 3-start and 4 star hotels
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast (buffet)
  • Route description and maps
  • Daily luggage transfer
  • Tourist Tax

Not included

  • Other Meals
  • Parking
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Wed 29 May

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Sat 25 May - Thu 30 May

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 26 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 28 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 29 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 30 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 31 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £809 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve