Prague to Vienna

From the Golden City Prague to the old imperial city Vienna – this bicycle tour connects two of the most beautiful metropolises in Europe. On your journey, you will ride through both virgin and cultivated landscapes. Lush meadows and deep green forests will give way to small, idyllically situated Bohemian villages. You will pass by numerous castles and palaces and cycle through pristine river and pond landscapes.

The hilly southern Bohemian region and the “Waldviertel” in Lower Austria will put you to the test, but a good Budweiser beer is sure to make up for any exertions along the way. The courses of the rivers Vltava, Kamp and Danube will guide you for large portions of this tour. The landscapes and attractions on this route promise a refreshing break from everyday life and are sure to delight all.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £839 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

We recommend arriving at Prague early; the “golden city” is one of the most beautiful in Europe, and the historical city centre has been a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site since 1992. Its historical buildings, the winding streets of the old city and a breath-taking view of the Charles Bridge are perfect excuses for a stroll around the city. This will be the first of many unforgettable moments in a holiday full of delights.

The Vltava river will guide you out of Prague. The slightly hilly and ever-changing landscape is sure to enchant you. During today’s stage, you will pass through many small, idyllically situated Bohemian villages. The small houses, with wooden-panelled gables, irresistibly draw the eyes, and the many cosy inns entice one to stop for a refreshing beer. Your accommodation for the night will be in the Sedlčany area.

For most of today, you will once again be following the course of the river Vltava, passing through many small Bohemian villages and the lush Bohemian forest. Via a beautiful resevoir, you will be able to make your way to Orlík. The gothic castle is certainly worth a visit, but merely a few kilometres further comes the next attraction. Zvikov Castle was one of the most important castles of Bohemia in the middle ages. The picturesque town of Písek marks the end of today’s stage.

You will be surrounded by fascinating, cultivated landscapes for most of today. The bike path follows the romantic banks of the Vltava river for the most part and will lead you through some pretty towns like Týn nad Vltavou. A small forest path will bring you to Hluboká castle, which sits atop a hill high over the Vltava and is definitely worth visiting. On arrival in České Budějovice, also known as Budweis, a Budweiser beer is exactly the right refreshment to make up for any exertions during the day.

During today’s stage, you will experience nature at its purest. The southern Bohemian landscape features many meadows and forests. The region is recognised as a UNESCO nature reserve, and the so-called “southern Bohemian pond landscape” is a result of the long-standing fish farming tradition in the region. The wholly untouched nature is a fantastic experience for any cyclist, and there is also something for fans of culture and architecture; historical buildings, old citadels, and picturesque villages are scattered all along the way.

Today’s stage will take you through the north of Lower Austria. The so-called “Waldviertel” region is known for its many river and pond landscapes. The cycle path will lead you through seemingly endless forests with fresh air and wonderful authenticity. The Waldviertel cuisine is also known far and wide. Make sure to try a dish with carp and potatoes, the culinary specialities of this region.

The Kamptal bicycle path will quickly lead you to Hadersdorf via Langenlois. The route is gorgeous and also relatively flat. You will soon spot the first vineyards around Krems. From Hadersdorf, you will take the train to Tulln. Take some time to visit the Egon Schiele museum before riding the last few kilometres along the Danube to Vienna. You will reach your accommodation via the Danube Island, comfortably avoiding all traffic.

Your bicycle tour ends after breakfast. We recommend staying longer to explore Vienna. Our transfer service in our bicycle bus is also a very comfortable option which can be booked.

Route large icon

Route overview

The road quality varies widely. The route follows both well-paved cycle paths and bumpy, unsurfaced dirt tracks and forest trails. For the most part, you will cycle along separate cycle paths and secondary roads, with only a few sections featuring heavier traffic. Please note that the Czech part of the route as well as the so-called “Waldviertel” include some steep climbs and require a good level of fitness. The signposting of the route is generally good.

Total distance cycled: 394 km

Bike hire options

This cycling holiday benefits from high-quality bike hire options that have been carefully selected for the tour. Each well-maintained bike has modern V-brakes, aluminium wheels and puncture-proof tyres based around a KTM frame. Dynamo lights, small panniers, repair accessories, a handlebar bag and a comfortable saddle ensure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable cycle tour. Rental bike insurance is included in every booking.


Standard Unisex Bike 21/24-gears

Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 43 cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 190 cm)


Standard Men’s Bike 21-gears with crossbar

Sizes: 63 / 60 / 56-51 cm (heights approx. 165 cm to 205 cm)


Rental Bike PLUS
Rental Bike PLUS is designed for a slightly sportier sitting position and finely tuned gears offer excellent riding flexibility. The KTM aluminium frame has a high-quality Suntour suspension fork and puncture-proof tyres.
Sizes: 63 / 60 / 55 / 51 / 50 / 46 cm (heights approx. 155 cm to 205 cm)


Unisex Electric Bike
The electric bikes available on this tour assist up to 25 km/h whilst pedalling. The pedalec motor is in the bottom bracket of the frame and the detachable batteries last for approximately 120 km. Each bike has an illuminated LCD and 8-speed internal hub gears. They weigh 23 kg and have a back-pedal brake. Only limited numbers are available.
Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 46 ‘xs’ cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 195 cm)

What’s included

The Prague to Vienna cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Subject to confirmation

    • Accommodation in the chosen category
    • Daily breakfast from buffet
    • Luggage transfer from hotel to hotel
    • 7-day service hotline
    • Well elaborated route
    • Detailed travel documents with maps and route description
    • Train ticket from Hadersdorf to Tulln (incl. bikes)
    • GPS tracks available
    • If choosing half board: 5x 3-course evening meal included (in Prague and Vienna only breakfast.

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person sharing a double/twin room and exclude flights.

To book, please select a day of the week the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Get our latest NEWS and promotions straight to your inbox HERE

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £999 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £839 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

call 01706 618155 for all bookings and enquiries

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve