North Netherlands Tour

This amazing tour is particularly great in the spring when you can enjoy the bulb flowers in full bloom as this province is characteristic for tulips, cheese, and windmills. The land is rather flat here and some of it sits 6 metres below sea level.

Visit the UNESCO World heritage site of the largest polder, dating back to 1612; polders are distinct to this area and known as cultural landscapes which are designed and created deliberately by people. We will guide you through the Netherlands showing you history, culture and modern day attempts to protect the country from rising sea levels.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £899.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Alkmaar, enjoy a first afternoon / evening here depending on when you arrive.

Start the day off in Alkmaar enjoying its traditional Friday morning cheese market, open from April – September. From here you will begin your cycling through typical North Holland scenery, for example wet meadows in excavated peatland and villages arranged in a line along dikes or canals. Before you get to Amsterdam you will pass by the Zaan, this small region to the north of the city was a leader in the ship trade in the 17th century, as well as being home to millers, blacksmiths, weavers, carpenters, ship builders and other craftsmen. Learn all about this at the Zaans museum. After here is the Zaanse Schans, a group of amazing architecture from the 17th and 18th century. All of this will be whilst in the view of the river. The day will end in Amsterdam, we recommend visiting the canal district.

Spend the morning enjoying the 400-year-old canal district, exquisite museums such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Anne Frank’s house. See performers and artists on Dam Square, Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein, and of course visit the world-famous red-light district. When it’s time to bid farewell to the Netherland’s capital you will be heading to Hoorn via the peaceful countryside. Hoorn is an old trading town with interesting museums, shopping opportunities, port activities and local cafes.

From Hoorn you will head up the coast of Lake Ijsselmeer until you get to the gorgeous town of Enkhuizen, here a great visit is the Muiderzee Museum that tells the history of when ships sailed from Zuirderzee and travelled the seas trading bulbs and spices. This was in a time called the “Golden Age” which was mainly in the 17th century when Holland dominated world trade. As you continue on your route along the lake you will see numerous crop fields, orchards, and windmills until you reach Medemblik. This old town has a marina, bakery museum and steam engine museum to enjoy for the afternoon and evening.

As you cycle between Medemblik and Keins you will have the northern part of the Westfriese Omringdijk in your sights, this is a 126km long 800-year-old dike that connects the cities of Alkmaar, Hoorn, Enkhuizen, Medeblik and Schagen. On this route you can also see numerous birds in the nature reserves of Twisk and Oostermare, as well as characteristic farmhouses and square buildings. Visit the village of Barsingerhorn, which is a beautiful display of gorgeous Kolhorn. Your stop for the day is Den Helder, to get here you will go through the largest flower bulb area in the world. It started out as a whaling village and the city centre was destroyed in the second world war and thus the city looks relatively modern today. You can shorten this leg on the journey by continuing to follow the dike between Winkel and Kolhorn.

Today you will start and end the day in the same day but do an exciting excursion to Texel. You will cross from Den Helder to Texel by ferry, this is the largest of the five Wadden islands, which are an area of outstanding natural beauty. This island is an excellent place to explore by bike – enjoy villages, countryside, dunes, beaches etc. and can be enjoyed on numerous routes.

On the last day of cycling, you will be heading down the North Sea past wide beaches, seaside resorts, woods, and the dune resort of Zwanenwater. These dunes protect the land from being flooded by the sea. However, this was not the case in Petten; here the dunes have been washed away and thus a wall has been built. There is an exhibition called “De Dijk te Kijk” which tells you in much more depth about the sea wall.

Another route you can take is through the bulb fields. The tulip colours which sit just behind the dunes.

After a last breakfast it is time for your tour to come to an end.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Easy – difficult

Start point: Alkmaar

End point: Alkmaar

Total distance: approx. 357km

Most of this route takes part on cycle lanes and through villages. Some busier roads in the cities and some tougher terrain by the sand dunes.

What’s included

    • 7 Nights Included
    • Standard Bike Hire
    • 3/4 Star Hotels
    • Breakfast Included
    • Detailed roadbooks with maps and tourist information
    • 7 days a week service hotline
    • Luggage Transport
    • GPS Tracks available

Not included

  • Ferry Crossings
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

FROM £899 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve