Munich Lakes

Experience Bavaria like no-other on this 8-day cycle tour, allowing you to discover both the beautiful landscapes and rich culture of this enchanting German state. Starting in the capital of Bavaria itself, Munich, enjoy the various landmarks, historical sites, and magnificent gardens. Cycle through the south of Germany and discover the hidden gems of Bavaria, embracing yourself in the unique and traditional Bavarian lifestyle as you pass through various historical towns such as Murnau am Staffelsee, Garmisch-Partenkirchen and Bad Tölz, offering you an authentic taste of Bavarian culture.

You will first- hand experience Bavaria’s breathtakingly beautiful scenery along the way, riding alongside impressive mountain peaks in the Bavarian Alps, rolling hills, charming green meadows, romantic valleys, and tranquil lakes with beautiful blue waters. Take a relaxing, leisurely cycle and free your mind and body, all whilst immersing yourself in Bavarian tradition and unspoiled nature.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1219 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

On your first day, you will receive a welcome briefing and bike fitting, ready for you to discover the magical city of Munich and the many wonders that the Bavarian capital has to offer such as the Marienplatz, English Garden and Nymphenburg Palace.

Starting the tour in Munich, you will ride through Forstenrieder Park to Bavaria’s second largest lake, Lake Starnberg. From there, you will cycle along the lakeside road to Seeshaupt and proceed through various charming, historical Bavarian towns, passing the Osterseen Lakes and Lake Riegsee and arriving at the market town of Murnau am Staffelsee.

On day 3, you will cycle through the Murnauer Moos nature reserve, which is the largest swamp area of Central Europe, and continue riding along the River Loisach until you reach the picturesque town of Garmisch Partenkirchen, located in the Bavarian Alps. This stage is intended to be brief, allowing you the opportunity to take an individual trip to Zugspitzbahn, a mountain railway that takes you to the top of Germany’s highest mountain. At an altitude of 2962 meters, you will experience truly breath-taking views of the Alps.

You will take a short train ride to Scharnitz, bridging an altitude of 300 metres, and follow an uphill cycle route taking you through magnificent rocky gorges and lushly green meadows, leading you to the spring of the River Isar. Next, you will cycle back through a peaceful valley, offering extensive breath-taking views of the Karwendal (the largest mountain range of the Northern Limestone Alps), and Wettersteingebirge mountain group. You will pass through the Alpine town of Mittenwald and eventually arrive in the traditional Bavarian village of Wallgau.

Passing through the Isarwinkel, you will take a scenic ride alongside the picturesque, turquoise waters of Lake Sylvenstein. Surrounded by stunning scenery and magical landscapes, you will pass the small Alps town of Lenggries and finally arrive in charming town of Bad Tölz, known for its spas and spectacular views that it offers of the Alps and Isar River.

You will ride through the gloriously green Tegernsee countryside to Gmund am Tegernsee, where you will be able to marvel at the beautiful, tranquil Lake Tegernsee and its stunning surrounding mountain landscape. Passing through the Gaißbach valley, you will be welcomed back into Bad Tölz, allowing you to time to explore the location of famous German TV show ‘Der Bulle von Tölz’, and take in the beautiful Bavarian architecture of its baroque town houses located on the historic Marktstraße.

Following the Isar Cycle Route, you will leave Bad Tölz and ride through the Bavarian towns of Geretsried and Wolfratshausen directly into Grünwald. From here, you will take on a number of short climbs before arriving back into the starting destination of Munich, where you have the opportunity to explore the capital of Bavaria in more detail, with its many sights and attractions awaiting you.

With the tour coming to an end, you will return your bike if you rented one and collect your luggage. You will either depart Munich on this day, or alternatively there is an option to extend your stay if you wish.

Route large icon

Route overview

Starting Location: Munich

Difficulty Level: Moderate

Overall, this tour is relatively easy. There are several short climbs along the way, however you can overcome these by pushing your bike if needed. The route will allow you to cycle on stunning bike paths and minor roads, with main roads only being used for short distances. The route is mostly paved, with some longer passages on forest tracks, however, all tracks are in good condition.

Bike hire options

This cycling holiday benefits from high-quality bike hire options carefully selected for the tour. Each well-maintained bike has modern V-brakes, aluminium wheels and puncture-proof tyres based around a KTM frame. Dynamo lights, small panniers, repair accessories, a handlebar bag and a comfortable saddle ensure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable cycle tour. Rental bike insurance is included in every booking.


Standard Unisex Bike 21/24-gears

Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 43 cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 190 cm)


Standard Men’s Bike 21-gears with crossbar

Sizes: 63 / 60 / 56-51 cm (heights approx. 165 cm to 205 cm)


Rental Bike PLUS
Rental Bike PLUS is designed for a slightly sportier sitting position and finely tuned gears offer excellent riding flexibility. The KTM aluminium frame has a high-quality Suntour suspension fork and puncture-proof tyres.
Sizes: 63 / 60 / 55 / 51 / 50 / 46 cm (heights approx. 155 cm to 205 cm)


Unisex Electric Bike
The electric bikes available on this tour assist up to 25 km/h whilst pedalling. The pedalec motor is in the bottom bracket of the frame and the detachable batteries last for approximately 120 km. Each bike has an illuminated LCD and 8-speed internal hub gears. They weigh 23 kg and have a back-pedal brake. Only limited numbers are available.
Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 46 ‘xs’ cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 195 cm)

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing
  • Luggage transfer
  • Well-developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • 1 train journey from Garmisch Partenkirchen – Scharnitz excl. bike
  • 1 veal sausage breakfast
  • App for Navigation and GPS data available
  • Service hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike hire (optional supplements, with rental bike insurance included)
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person sharing a double/twin room and exclude flights.

To book, please select a day of the week the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Get our latest NEWS and promotions straight to your inbox HERE

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

call 01706 618155 for all bookings and enquiries

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve