Munich Lakes

Experience Bavaria like no- other on this 8-day cycle tour, allowing you to discover both the beautiful landscapes and rich culture of this enchanting German state. Starting in the capital of Bavaria itself, Munich, enjoy the various landmarks, historical sites, and magnificent gardens. Cycle through the south of Germany and discover the hidden gems of Bavaria, embracing yourself in the unique and traditional Bavarian lifestyle as you pass through various historical towns such as Murnau am Staffelsee, Garmisch-Partenkirchen and Bad Tölz, offering you an authentic taste of Bavarian culture. You will first- hand experience Bavaria’s breathtakingly beautiful scenery along the way, riding alongside impressive mountain peaks in the Bavarian Alps, rolling hills, charming green meadows, romantic valleys, and tranquil lakes with beautiful blue waters. Take a relaxing, leisurely cycle and free your mind and body, all whilst immersing yourself in Bavarian tradition and unspoiled nature.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1049.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

On your first day, you will receive a welcome briefing and bike fitting, ready for you to discover the magical city of Munich and the many wonders that the Bavarian capital has to offer such as the Marienplatz, English Garden and Nymphenburg Palace.

Starting the tour in Munich, you will ride through Forstenrieder Park to Bavaria’s second largest lake, Lake Starnberg. From there, you will cycle along the lakeside road to Seeshaupt and proceed through various charming, historical Bavarian towns, passing the Osterseen Lakes and Lake Riegsee and arriving at the market town of Murnau am Staffelsee.

On day 3, you will cycle through the Murnauer Moos nature reserve, which is the largest swamp area of Central Europe, and continue riding along the River Loisach until you reach the picturesque town of Garmisch Partenkirchen, located in the Bavarian Alps. This stage is intended to be brief, allowing you the opportunity to take an individual trip to Zugspitzbahn, a mountain railway that takes you to the top of Germany’s highest mountain. At an altitude of 2962 meters, you will experience truly breath-taking views of the Alps.

You will take a short train ride to Scharnitz, bridging an altitude of 300 metres, and follow an uphill cycle route taking you through magnificent rocky gorges and lushly green meadows, leading you to the spring of the River Isar. Next, you will cycle back through a peaceful valley, offering extensive breath-taking views of the Karwendal (the largest mountain range of the Northern Limestone Alps), and Wettersteingebirge mountain group. You will pass through the Alpine town of Mittenwald and eventually arrive in the traditional Bavarian village of Wallgau.

Passing through the Isarwinkel, you will take a scenic ride alongside the picturesque, turquoise waters of Lake Sylvenstein. Surrounded by stunning scenery and magical landscapes, you will pass the small Alps town of Lenggries and finally arrive in charming town of Bad Tölz, known for its spas and spectacular views that it offers of the Alps and Isar River.

You will ride through the gloriously green Tegernsee countryside to Gmund am Tegernsee, where you will be able to marvel at the beautiful, tranquil Lake Tegernsee and its stunning surrounding mountain landscape. Passing through the Gaißbach valley, you will be welcomed back into Bad Tölz, allowing you to time to explore the location of famous German TV show ‘Der Bulle von Tölz’, and take in the beautiful Bavarian architecture of its baroque town houses located on the historic Marktstraße.

Following the Isar Cycle Route, you will leave Bad Tölz and ride through the Bavarian towns of Geretsried and Wolfratshausen directly into Grünwald. From here, you will take on a number of short climbs before arriving back into the starting destination of Munich, where you have the opportunity to explore the capital of Bavaria in more detail, with its many sights and attractions awaiting you.

With the tour coming to an end, you will return your bike if you rented one and collect your luggage. You will either depart Munich on this day, or alternatively there is an option to extend your stay if you wish.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty Level: Moderate

Overall, this tour is relatively easy. There are a number of short climbs along the way, however you can overcome these by pushing your bike if needed. The route will allow you to cycle on stunning bike paths and minor roads, with main roads only being used for short distances. The route is mostly paved, with some longer passages on forest tracks, however all tracks are in good condition.

Starting Location: Munich, Germany.

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing (German, English)
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • 1 train journey from Garmisch Partenkirchen – Scharnitz excl. bike
  • 1 veal sausage breakfast

 

  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline

 

Optional extras
  • Half-board evening meal (mostly multi-course, sometimes outside the property, payable with voucher)
  • E Bike rental, including rental bike insurance

 

Things to note
  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
  • Bike ticket for train journey to Garmisch – Scharnitz approx. € 5/bike
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Fri 19 Apr - Fri 26 Apr

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 20 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Wed 01 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Thu 02 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Fri 03 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Sat 04 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sun 05 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Mon 06 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Tue 07 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 01 May - Wed 08 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 02 May - Thu 09 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 03 May - Fri 10 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 04 May - Sat 11 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sun 12 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 06 May - Mon 13 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 07 May - Tue 14 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 08 May - Wed 15 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 09 May - Thu 16 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 10 May - Fri 17 May

Daily

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 11 May - Sat 18 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 12 May - Sun 19 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 13 May - Mon 20 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 14 May - Tue 21 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 15 May - Wed 22 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 16 May - Thu 23 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 17 May - Fri 24 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 18 May - Sat 25 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sun 26 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 20 May - Mon 27 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 21 May - Tue 28 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 22 May - Wed 29 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 23 May - Thu 30 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve