Krakow to Tokaj

Cycle from Tatras to Tokaj on this self-guided holiday in Poland, Slovakia and Hungary. After an evening in Krakow you will cross the border into Slovakia and cycle past the ragged Alpine peaks of the High Tatras Range. Visit Slovakia’s second city, Kosice, and ride from the Vistula to the Danube through picturesque scenery. Explore Kezmarok, with its spectacular collection of Renaissance and Gothic buildings and end your tour in Tokaj, a celebrated wine producing region.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £739.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Join tour Krakow. We meet in the evening in an old town restaurant.

Today we cross the border into Slovakia, driving to the town of Tatranska Lomnica, nestling amongst the ragged peaks of the High Tatras Range. Taking lunch in Tatranska Lomnica we then begin cycling, enjoying an exhilarating downhill ride to the historic town of Kezmarok, once one of the most important settlements on medieval Slovakia’s eastern boundaries.

Colonised by Germans during the 13th century the town stood second only to nearby Levoca in importance and its old town still retains a distinctive medieval feel, dominated by the imposing presence of its 15th century castle. The town also boasts a superb wooden church, considered by many to be one of the finest in the entire country, as well as some outstanding examples of Gothic architecture, including the Basilica of the Holy Cross, built in the 15th century on the site of the original church built by the town’s German settlers.

Cycling to the charming old village of Hradisko this morning we have the opportunity to crest the top of nearby Brezova Hill for some spectacular views out across the Tatras. Continuing along the ridgeline we then cycle through a quite breathtaking vista, before enjoying a downhill coast to the historic walled city of Levoca. Abounding with beautiful Renaissance architecture and impressive fortifications, the town presents us with one of the most captivating locations in the entire Spis region.

Colonised by German settlers in the 12th century much of the town’s present character was forged during the 16th century, after a fire necessitated a rebuilding of the heart of the town, endowing this hidden gem with a quite spectacular collection of Renaissance and Gothic buildings.

Levoca’s centrepiece is the 15th century Church of St James, the second largest Gothic church in the country and boasting the world’s largest wooden altar, along with some particularly fine frescoes. The town’s main square is littered with an array of impressive town houses and its Town Hall is amongst the most stunning of this remarkable collection of historic jewels.

Leaving Levoca behind this morning we cycle uphill, following tracks that take us past a patchwork of fields, up tŠibenik Hill for some wonderful views across Levoca and the Tatras beyond. From here we follow a series of minor roads, through a collection of small villages until we reach the town of Spiska Kapitula, once the religious capital of the region and for some 600 years almost entirely inhabited by clergy.

We visit the ruins of the nearby Spissky Hrad, once one of the largest castles in Central Europe. Occupying the ridge high above the town, the castle was originally built by Hungarian Kings at the turn of the 13th century, eventually meeting its end in 1780, since which it has remained a ghostly testament to the conflicts and internecine politics that once plagued this region. From the top of the Gothic Tower there is a spectacular all round view of the surrounding landscape. From here we cycle downhill to the village of Zehra, to view its 12th century church, before continuing to the old mining town of Krompachy in the Hornad River Valley.

Lying at the junction of three major mountain ranges – the Levocsky Hills, the Bračisko Massif and the Volovsky Hills, the town is blessed with some superb scenery, surrounded on every side by rising peaks and plunging valleys. We will be staying at the nearby ski resort of Pleisy, affording us the ideal opportunity to take in some of the wonderful views and ambience of this mountain setting.

Today we journey along the Hornad River Valley, following a network of cycle paths and minor roads, traversing a landscape that takes us through the Carpathians to the town of Kosice. As we cycle through Margecany, the river changes into a substantial reservoir, with high steep banks that are carpeted in wild forest. We aim to stop for lunch at a restaurant somewhere close to the waters edge, before resuming our journey along a forest road that skirts the reservoir.

As we near the end of the day’s journey the mountain landscape changes to a more gentle terrain of rolling hills as we enter a warmer climate zone lying amongst the southern boundaries of Eastern Slovakia. Kosice is the country’s second largest city, where the old and the new come together in an eclectic fusion of sights and sounds. The ity is littered with museums and churches and its labyrinth of charming narrow streets make it perfect to explore on two wheels.

Originally a Slav settlement, the city has had a somewhat chequered history, gaining importance under the early Hungarian empire, before attacks from the Turks saw its important trade routes interrupted and its commercial importance decline. Its allegiances and influences have continually moved between Czech and Hungarian factions over the years and even today its has a viBračt Hungarian ethnic community.

Passing between the rolling hills of Eastern Slovakia we head first for Slanec Castle this morning, a 13th century Gothic ruin that occupies the hills above the Bodrog River Valley. Passing through a vista of vineyards and villages we pass through Velka Trna and Mala Trna, en route to Satoraljaujhely just across the Hungarian border in the northern uplands close to the Zemplen Hills.

Strategically located on the trading routes to Russia, Poland and Transylvania, the town thrived during the Middle Ages, being granted town privileges in 1261 by King Stephen V. The most northern town in Hungary, nestling amongst a landscape of forests and vineyards, it also played a key role in the fight for independence from the Austrians and today is part of the famous Hegyalja wine-growing region.

Cycling along the Bodrog and Tisa Valleys today we follow an abandoned railway line that takes us via the historically important town of Sarospatak. Once a centre for Calvinist power and thought, the town has also played a pivotal role over the years in Hungary’s fight for independence from the Habsburg yolk. We take time to visit the riverside castle of Rakoczi, an imposing edifice that spans some 500 years of the town’s turbulent history.

The castle’s most illustrious owners were the Transylvanian Rakoczis, who expanded much of the Renaissance Palace and held the fortress until the early years of the 18th century, when their unsuccessful fight against the Austrian crown resulted in Ferenc Rakoczi being driven into exile and the castle passing into the hands of Austrian nobility.

After our visit we continue south, following the flow of the Bodrog River towards the town of Tokaj, lying to the west of the confluence of the Bodrog and the Tisza. This is one of the most celeBračed wine producing areas in the country and Tokaj makes up part of the expansive Tokaj-Hegyalja region that runs through the southern and eastern fringes of the Zemplen Hills.

Depart after breakfast.

Route large icon

Route overview

A cycling tour of moderate difficulty. Height differences of 100-200 m occur a few times. We follow the Hornad river valley in the Carpathian mountains and then cycle through the flat Tisa valley in Hungary.

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

The Krakow to Tokaj cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Included Services (Subject to confirmation)Holiday Information The Vistas & Wines Cycling tour stays in middle tier hotels and good guesthouses carefully chosen for their location, hospitality and proximity to your tour route. Your stay includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and permanent assistance in case of problems. Services – Accommodation in hotels 3/4/5*and guesthouse in two bedded room with WC and shower, on basis of bed & breakfast.
– Luggage transfers.
– Transfers on days 2 and 4.
– Information package including text road book and maps, one per booking.
– Personal welcome meeting, detailed briefing & bike fitting upon arrival. – Backup service (hotline) during the trip.
3 starsAbout the bikes Some are commercially available models and others are custom built for cycling in Slovenia. All are made following high industry standards and are made using the best parts. Bike are maintained in the workshop on a regular basis. The fleet is constantly renewed, but no bike is more than 2 years old. Classic trekking bikes are equipped with 21 gears, cycling meter, lock, one pannier, set of Allen keys and basic puncture repair set. Price includes delivery and pick up. 3 stars

Not Included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £739 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve