Istria Coastal Tour

Start your bike adventure in the pleasant coastal town of Trieste, a former Habsburg town which offers a lovely blend of sun, sea, and history. Trieste was formerly under the rule of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and had a thriving and wealthy port, which was the 4th largest in the empire. This history can still be seen today in the main square and the slim streets.

Once you’ve had a taste of Trieste, it’s time to pedal southwards and leave Italy, heading to Croatia via Slovenia. Enjoy the bright Istria Peninsula and its quaint fishing villages, small towns perched on karst hills, glistening vineyards, and luscious valleys. Discover an area full of gems with varied scenery and colour.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £959.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Say hello to Trieste / Muggia! Get to know the town by walking along the promenade or visiting the incredible Mariamare Castle. Take a cappuccino break on the beautiful Piazza Unità d’Italia in the heart of the town. If you’re staying in Muggia, you can take a transport boat to the city centre.

If you weren’t staying there the night before, you can pay a quick visit to Muggia before hopping over the border so Slovenia. Once in Slovenia you will cycle along a bike path along the coast and pass another lovely port town, Koper, before heading onto the gorgeous Venetian villages of Izola and Piran. Wander through the slim alleyways and enjoy their churches. In Piran, you can take a coffee break in Tartini Square surrounded by beautiful Venetian buildings. Your stop for the night will be Portorôz, a wealthy spa town on the Slovenian Riviera.

On this day you will have incredible views as you cycle past the salt flats on Sečovlje, it’s best to arrive here bright and early to catch the gorgeous dawn light. Next it’s time to hop into Croatia and into Istria, you’ll be heading for the village of Umag over some hills. This village was a Roman colony, you feel as if you are stepping back in time with its town walls and gated drawbridge. Embrace this history by strolling through the medieval centre and visiting the beautiful city tower.

On this day you will also cross over some more hilly terrain on the way to Novigrad (Cittanova), which is also a medieval walled town. Novigrad boats an interesting history and an amazing food scene, it is noted as one of the top gourmet locations in Istria. Up next you will stop in Poreč, here there is a UNESCO Euphrasian Basilicia not worth missing as well as buildings with a mix of baroque, gothic, and Romanesque style.

The world is your oyster today! Take a boat trip on a fish picnic boat or take a trip to the Limksi-channel. You can also visit the fjord-alike Limksi-channel, which is a National Park nature reserve where mussel and oyster farming takes place. You could also opt for a relaxing day by the sea, or in the countryside of Porec.

Today you will go to Rovinj, a real highlight of Istria. It is one of the last true Mediterranean fishing ports and is home to the Euphemia Church which hosts a large bell tower. This church is also built on the highest spot of town, so it is visible from everywher. There will also be the option to cycle to Zlatnirt, aka the Golden Cape, which is a peninsula hosting is a nature reserve.

The last leg of your adventure will take you to Pula which lies on the southwest point of the peninsula. Head out to the Brijuni Islands, which consists of 12 littler islands and 2 larger islands. The main island is Veli Brijun which was resided in the summer by Yugoslav statesman “Tito”. Also discover the land where dinosaurs once roamed, more than 200 dinosaur footprints have been discovered here. The oldest town of Istria is Pula and is the commercial and cultural hub. Enjoy the relics on your last day such as the Pula Arena, which is the only Roman amphitheatre that still has four side towers and all three Roman architectural orders completely preserved.

Have one last breakfast and then either set off home or extend your trip.

Route large icon

Route overview

Start point: Trieste / Muggia

End point: Pula

Distance: Approx. 250 km

Self-guided tour with moderate difficulty. Mainly on cycle paths but in some areas with low hills also.

What’s included

  • Accommodation in hotels of chosen level, in two bedded room with WC and shower, on a bed & breakfast
    basis.
  • Luggage transfer – one piece, max 20 kgs / 45 lb. Every additional item 10 EUR, payable on spot.
  • Personal welcome meeting an bike fitting upon arrival.
  • GPS data.
  • Local tourist and other taxes.
  • Backup service (hotline) during the trip.
  • Information package including text road notes (in simple English) and corresponding maps. One per booking,
    Every additional set 20 EUR.
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £1219 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve