Danube Cycle Path – Passau to Vienna

Explore the paths along the blue Danube River just as the Romans, and the legendary Nibelungs did before you. You will get to know the beauty and historical significance of this ancient military and trading route.

Never far from the clear waters and serenity of the Danube, you will enjoy one of Europe’s most stunning and ever popular cycle routes. You can start your trip either in the baroque town of Schärding, or up the river in Passau, known as the town of three rivers. You will cycle through a wonderful variety of landscapes in Lower Austria, before finally reaching the Danube metropolis of Vienna.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £729.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Your tour will either start in the baroque town of Schärding, where you can marvel at the famous Silberzeile lane, or in Paasau where you should take a walk through the “New Centre” of the town, which has been completely redesigned as a pedestrian, car-free area.

As you ride along the river Inn from Scharding you will come to Passau, the town of three rivers. We recommend that you take a guided tour of the town, and visit the cathedral, while you are here. You can enjoy the sounds of the largest church organ in the world (except Sundays and public holidays). When you continue along the Danube, you will first pass Obernzell, before finally arriving in Engelhartszell (the only Trappist monastery in Austria).

Later, you will ride through the nature reserve Donauleiten, which will lead you to the Schlögen Bend to the north. This is where granite changed the course of the Danube by a full 180 degrees. A ferry will take you across the river to your hotel, and the crossing will give you the perfect opportunity to look at this natural phenomenon.

Today you will cycle through the green Eferdinger basin, passing through, on your journey, the market towns of Aschach, Ottensheim and Wilhering. You will ride all the way to the Upper Austrian capital of Linz. The historical Old Town of Linz is home to plenty of pubs and eateries that you can discover. Other highlights of the city, named European Capital of Culture 2009, include the magnificent views from Pöstlingberg mountain and taking a stroll through the Donaulände park.

The ride today will take you on a little detour, away from the course of the Danube, to St. Florian (Augustinian monastery) and to Enns. The town square in Inns features a 60 metre town tower, a landmark of the oldest town in Austria. Alternatively, you can visit the archaeological collection in the municipal museum Lauriacum.

Later, you will return to the river, arriving first at the beautiful, baroque town of Grein. Here, you have the opportunity to visit the oldest municipal theatre in Austria that is still operational. Other options include, the maritime museum or Greinburg castle.

The Strudengau section of the Danube was once feared by sailors, but now you can cycle along it. Where they used to fight against strong river currents, you can now enjoy a leisurely ride. In Maria Taferl, high above the Danube, you will find a magnificent church, which attracts thousands of pilgrims every year.

Make time today for a short stop in Melk. Remember to look up or you will risk missing sight of the beautiful Stift Melk monastery that overlooks the Danube. Once you leave the town you will reach the picturesque Wachau region. Here, you are sure to enjoy the charming atmosphere in the region’s typical orchards and vineyards.

You will pass through the wine towns of Spitz and Weißenkirchen, before cycling past the impressive ruin of Dürnstein Castle. Your journey, for the day, will finish either in the 1000-year old town of Krems or in Tulln. During a stay in the Wachau region, we strongly recommend that you take part in a wine tasting session, which we have organised for you.

The ride of your tour will be a relaxed trip to the Austrian capital, Vienna. As soon as you arrive, get checked into your room, and then you can spend the rest of the day enjoying this bright and varied city. Treat yourself to a Viennese-style Americano coffee and a piece of the famous Sachertorte cake in one of Vienna’s typical coffee houses.

Vienna’s Parade shopping street is a must see destination, after which you could stroll along Mariahilfer Strasse, visit the St Stephen’s Cathedral or take a trip in one of the famous Fiaker cabs.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Leisurely

Cycle along the River Danube on a flat or slightly descending route, almost 100% on dedicated cycle paths without any motor traffic. Only very short sections are on quiet minor roads.

Total distance cycled: 345 km

Starting point of the cycling holiday: Passau

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

  • Accommodation in your selected category
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing
  • Luggage transfers between hotels
  • Detailed information (route/overview maps, route description/notes)
  • 1x ferry ride (Au-Schlögen) incl. bike
  • 1x wine tasting in the Wachau region
  • Danube Card in Upper Austria
  • Service hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike hire (optional supplements, with rental bike insurance included)
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)

 

Additional info

  • For a stress-free start to your travel, arriving at the start point by early evening the day before is recommended. The individual return journey takes place on the last day of travel.
  • For any costs incurred locally (children, local taxes, dogs etc.), as well as excluded transport and services, please refer to the itinerary or the section “Services/Things to note”.
  • If a minimum number of participants is necessary for the trip to take place, this is defined under “Arrival dates”. If the minimum number of participants is not reached, we reserve the right to cancel the tour by the time specified under the heading “Arrival dates” before the planned travel date. We recommend organising your arrival and departure only after this deadline has passed.
  • The distance travelled is approximate and may differ from the actual distance.
  • The language in which the listed services are provided, as far as this is relevant for the provision of services, can be found under the heading “Services”.
  • If special passport or visa requirements are needed for EU citizens, this is indicated under “Arrival/Parking/Departure”.
  • This trip is not suitable for people with reduced mobility.
  • Travel cancellation insurance, including travel interruption insurance is recommended.
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £849 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £729 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve