Valencia and The Costa Azahar

Starting in the city of Valencia, the capital of its province, and ending in the coastal town of Peñiscola you will see historical architecture, culture, and beautiful nature scenes. In between the start and finish you can expect quiet country lanes and nature parks full of interesting wildlife, for example in the Albufera Nature Park. Much of the route being along the Mediterranean coast will also give ample opportunity to stop and swim in the sea. Don’t think we forgot your tastebuds, enjoy paella from its city of origin and eat in local seafood restaurants on the port.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £939.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Once you arrive in Valencia, you will check into your contemporary hotel, which will be your home for two nights. After this you will have time for an afternoon / evening of exploring; enjoy the Old Town, the City of Arts and Sciences or get your mouth around a traditional paella!

After you’ve spent a night getting acquainted with the city, you’ll be heading off on your bike for your first excursion, this will be on cycle routes from the city centre. The Albufera Natural Park consists of a freshwater lagoon and wetlands, it’s a true nature-lovers paradise that you won’t believe is just 10 miles or so away from the city. Take in the views from your bike and stop for a swim on the route.

On this day you will start off in a private transfer with your bike from Valencia. Today’s route will entail a well-maintained cycle lane within some truly gorgeous landscapes and some peaceful rural lanes until you get to the lovely town of Mora de Rubielos. Here you will come across buildings dating back to as far as the 14th century, including the highlight of the castle.

The fourth day will be another day of pleasant cycling along rural country lanes with a few twists and turns in them. This whole route will be mimicking the path of the river all the way to spa town Montanejo, where you can enjoy natural hot springs and mineral waters (said to do wonders for the skin). There will also be some architecture to enjoy in some buildings made in the 13th century by Arabic king Abu-Ceit.

Today’s scenery will be mountainous, and luckily for your legs it will be mostly downhill along a gorgeous valley to the sea. Your stop for the day will be El Grao de Castellón, a coastal town equipped with great views and seafood restaurants (one of which you can visit on the port).

Today’s journey will be along the coast, on the promenade and quaint seaside roads. There will of course be a chance to stop and make the most of the idyllic Mediterranean beaches on route to enjoy a sunbathe or a swim.

Your last day of cycling will be a bit more rogue through wild tracks whilst zigzagging across the Natural marine park “Sierra de Irta”. This area consists of untouched beaches, cliff tops and rocky landscapes, all with a backdrop of amazing views and inhabited by seabirds and amazing marine wildlife. Navigate this area with coastal paths until you get to your last destination of the tour of Peñiscola. This may be the last, but it’s not the least with its breath-taking turquoise waters.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Leisurely

Start point: Valencia

End point: Peñiscola

Total distance: average of 38km per day for 8 days / 7 nights

Most of the route will be flat, with just a few short climbs each day. The last day is the only exception with a short amount of cycling on dirt tracks which can be more uneven.

What’s included

7 nights’ accommodation. 7 breakfasts
Transfers on day 3 from Valencia to Barracas and on day 5 from Onda to Grao de Castellón
Luggage transfers between hotels
Detailed maps with your trail clearly marked
Itinerary description, full of recommendations for things to do and places to visit, advice and suggestions and information about your accommodation, etc
Emergency support
Activity insurance

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £1109 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 20 Oct - Sun 27 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 21 Oct - Mon 28 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 22 Oct - Tue 29 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 23 Oct - Wed 30 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 24 Oct - Thu 31 Oct

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 25 Oct - Fri 01 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 26 Oct - Sat 02 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 27 Oct - Sun 03 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 28 Oct - Mon 04 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 29 Oct - Tue 05 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 30 Oct - Wed 06 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 31 Oct - Thu 07 Nov

Daily

FROM £939 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve