Bruges to Brussels

On this one way cycle tour, you can follow a rodute carved dout by the Flemish Masters, through some of the most beautiful towns and cities in all of Belgium. Admire the artworks in the Old Masters Museum, Brussels. Discover St. Bavo Cathedral in Ghent, KMKSA and Rubens House in Antwerp, St. John’s Church in Mechelen and Groeninge Museum in Bruges.

In between destinations you will ride through many different regions, through the pleasant Belgian countryside often by the side of a river, and following a beautiful route.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £859.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Make your own way to the iconic city of Bruges. If you arrive early, make the most of your time in this wonderful, harmonious town. Explore the medieval looking buildings and feel the cobblestones beneath your feet. The city is picture perfect, with swans in the lake, stone archways and bridges, and pretty houses reflected in the canals all around you.

Today’s route follows the canal out of town. The Ghent-Bruges Canal, dating back to the 14th century, is one of the oldest in all of Belgium. The canal and it’s towpaths form a green corridor that is vital to the biodiversity of the area. Later, you will pass quiet, traditional villages such as Moerbrugge, Maria-Aalter and Knesselare, before peddaling through the flat, Flemish countryside to Maldegem. This evening, you will have the chance to put your feet up and relax in Maldegem.

The route today will guide you across the rural Meetjesland region, a cycling paradise of woods, meadowland and vast cropfields. Enjoy the play of light as you ride through the trees at Het Leen and Drongengoed. After that, you have an easy ride, through the flat Belgian landscape, to Eeklo, a small town known for its many sculptures. Finally, you will continue to Ghent. The Old Town of Ghent is like an open-air museum. A UNESCO Creative City of Music, the city is buzzing with art and culture. The music scene here is thriving. After dark, another side of the city comes to life, with a magical atmosphere brought to like by the town’s ingenious light plan.

For the most part, the River Scheldt will be your guide today. Allow it to lead you upstream, past a string of Flemish villages and towns. The 13th-century castle in the village of Laarne is an impressive landmark, and also serves as a great place for a break. It is also worthwhile making a stop in Dendermonde, to take a look at the Town Hall & Belfry and visit the Church of Our Lady, which boasts a beautiful baptismal font, dating back to the 11th century.

Fairly soon, you will find yourself, once again by the side of the Scheldt. You will cycle atop the river dike towards Antwerp. As a delightful break, why not visit De Zilverreiger, a regional museum, dedicated to preserving knowledge of local trades and crafts from times gone by, such as clog making. After a ferry crossing of the Scheldt, you will reach Kruibeke, home to Wissekerk Castle. In the 10th century this was a so-called water castle; part of the defensive line protecting Antwerp along the river. Your day will come to an end in Antwerp, a city with a long beer tradition, countless cafes, and endless shopping opportunities.

There is only a short ride today, so you have plenty of time to discover more of Antwerp. Why not visit a museum, before setting off towards Mechelen. If military heritage interests you, stop off in Mortsel to visit Fort no. 4. One of the (at one time) 8 Brialmont Forts (1860-1864) that made up the defensive line of Antwerp. Constructed from brick with sandstone decorations, it stands on an island surrounded by a ditch and glacis. Later you will continue along quiet country lanes, before riding alongside the River Nete, to Duffel. This is, as you might have guessed, the town where “duffel” originated from. The heavy, woolly material was used initially for bags and later for duffle coats, which were made popular by the British Royal Navy and are still around today. In the 15th century, duffel was produced here and exported all over Europe: a profitable business for then-prosperous Duffel. At the end of the day, you will have reached Mechelen, a small but attractive town, where you can enjoy a well earnt rest, and maybe a beer!

Tree-lined country lanes, will lead you past a series of ponds, along a river, around a wood, and finally through meadows and cropfields to Brussels. Along the way, pass Tervuren, known the Royal Africa Museum. In Brussels, you will find a fascinating mix of cultures, as can be seen in the streets, the architecture and even the menus of cafes and restaurants. Head for the Grande Place to enjoy a walk. Not only does Brussels have Manneken Pis, it also has the most delicious waffles, chocolates and pints. This is a city where culture vultures, shopaholics, and gourmets & gourmands can all make merry!

One last hotel breakfast buffet and your cycling holiday will come to an end. Make your own way home.

Route large icon

Route overview

Starting point of the cycling holiday: Bruges

Total distance cycled: 320 km (approx)

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

  • Double room with private facilities
  • Breakfast and dinner when half board supplement is paid
  • Luggage Transfer
  • English roadbook + map
  • Handy roadbook holder

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)

 

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £859 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve