Bike and Barge: Rotterdam to the Province of Zeeland

The province of Zeeland, also known as the “Land in the Sea” is located in the west of the Netherlands. This interesting landscape consists mostly of islands and peninsulas.

The Eastern and Western Scheldt estuaries of Zeeland reach far inland,  making it a paradise for various flora and fauna. Cycle with us from the energetic city of Rotterdam, a city known for its easy and relaxed atmosphere and culture of togetherness, to the province of Zeeland.  Discover historic towns such as Zierikzee and Middelburg, and the Delta Works; Holland’s most impressive storm surge barriers. Sample delicious local delicacies, such as mussels, oysters and Eastern Scheldt Lobster.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £1009.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Make your own way into Rotterdam. Embarkation at about 4:00 pm.
Depending on your arrival time, you might have the chance to see Rotterdam’s stunning Market Hall. The Dutch often refer to it as their “Sistine Chapel”, because of the incredible decor.
At 6:00pm the boat will cast off to Holland’s oldest town, Dordrecht, located impressively on an island between three wide rivers.

We will set sail for Willemstad in the morning. This small, fortified town dates back to the 17th/18th century, and is well worth the visit. Here, you will start your first bike tour. Cross the inland waters of Haringvliet over the Volkerakdam, and cycle through pleasant fields. You will pass villages that look like they’ve come straight out of a storybook, like Zwartsluis and Goudswaard, and finish the day at the popular water sports centre of Hellevoetsluis

If the weather is on your side, it is well worth taking a detour to the bathing beach of Rockanje, a wide fine-sandy beach with marvellous dunes, before you set out on today’s bike tour. Crossing the Haringvliet again, you will pass through small villages like Stellendam with the mill Korenlust, the small water sport village of Herkingen and, continuing along the Grevelingendam, you will eventually reach your destination for the day, the village of Bruinisse, famous for its mussels.

During today’s cycling you can visit the “Watersnoodmuseum”, where you can learn the story of the great flood disaster of 1953 and how the village of Viana was flooded and not rebuilt. Your next stop will be in Zierikzee, which has been named as one of the top 10 most beautiful Dutch national heritage towns, characterised by its “fat tower”. You can climb to the top of this tower and see amazing views of town, harbour, and island. As you carry on you will next go past Zeelandbrug, this bridge is 5km long and is a very impressive structure constructed out of 54 piers. After this will be your final stop for the day of Veere, this is the site where ships from Scotland used to dock, and today lavish yachts are parked.

Today is a day of options for you! You have three to choose from. You can explore Neeltje Jans, a former working island which was created out of a sand flat and is a true impressive creation. Here you can enjoy the docks from outside and inside. You can also visit the nearby amusement park “Deltapark”, which shows you the lives of sea lions and optionally you can visit the Oosterschelde “tall ship”.

Today you will firstly visit the capital of Zeeland, Middelburg. Previously the second most important city in the Netherlands after Amsterdam, this rich history can be experienced here. You can also do a spot of shopping and enjoy a refreshment in a local café. It’s also possible to do a city tour here, where you can learn about the city’s history. Continue through fairy-tale Dutch scenery on the Walcheren peninsula. This area is characterised with wide beaches, forests, and dunes. This is the area in the Netherlands with the most hours of sunshine!

On your final ride you will get the chance to explore the best-known windmills in the Netherlands at Kinderdijk. These 19 windmills date back to the 18th century, and are beautifully well preserved and are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The windmills are a must see attraction in the area! Follow the route along the Maas River up to Rotterdam, one of the largest ports in the world.

Disembarkation until 09:00am and individual journey home.

Route large icon

Route overview

Due to its numerous cycle paths, Holland has become a paradise for cyclists. The cycle routes are on flat terrain and are easy to cycle on, although strong head winds are possible.

Total distance: 250-265km

 

What’s included

The Bike & Barge: Cologne to Rotterdam cycling holiday includes accommodation onboard the MS Arkona and local support if required.

Included Services (Subject to confirmation)

• 7 nights aboard MS Normandie with private facilities and air conditioning
• Programme according itinerary
• Port fees included
• Captain greeting and Welcome drink
• Daily cabin cleaning, Changing of towels and bedcloths if wanted
• Full meals: 7x breakfast, 6x light lunch on board (non-cyclists) or packed lunch for cyclists, 6x afternoon coffee break, 7x dinner
• Daily informational meeting and Information pack with route book (one per cabin)

Services not included

Journey to Rotterdam and from Cologne, shuttles, entrance fees and excursions, ferry fares, travel insurances, parking fee, bike hire, drinks on board, tips.

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

FROM £1009 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve