Winery Tour on the Rhine

Imperial towns with imposing cathedrals, quaint wine villages, vineyards and idyllic river-cycle lanes can be expected on this tour. See a great mixture of culture and nature and get to try the culinary and beverage delights for yourself.

Calender 9 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £1119.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After travelling to your start point you will have a briefing and bike fitting. Spend the evening acquainting yourself with the wine capital of Germany. Meander through narrow quaint alleyways, highlights include the impressive abbey church and the Elwedritschenbrunnen fountain.

Let the Rhine guide you to Speyer, the eternal resting pace of Holy German Emperors and Kings. This city has a majestic cathedral and has UNESCO World Heritage Site status. You’ll also take a stop in Schwetzingen, home to a palace with gorgeous gardens. Your final stop for the day will be in Heidelberg, this is famous for being Germany’s oldest university town and its gorgeous architecture.

Time to say goodbye to the Rhine and hello to the river Neckar. Your first port of call will be Ladenburg, a city whose settlements date back 3000 years. Your cycling will stop for the day in Worms, an imperial town with attractions such as the St Peter cathedral, Luther memorial and the largest Jewish cemetery in Europe.

Peddle gently next to the Rhine on peaceful paths and passing the ancient Rhine channels. Take a short stop in Oppenheim, which has been branded a city of Gothic style and wine. Next, you’ll swap the bike for boat as you take a short ferry across the Rhine, see in the distance your stop for the night of Nierstein, a city lying within numerous vineyards. We wouldn’t be so mean as to tease you with these, we have organised a wine tasting for you.

After your stop in Nierstein you’ll be heading through the thick of the vineyards into Mainz, this is the capital off the Rhineland-Pfalz and is the second imperial city of this tour. Cross the Rhine once again and pay a visit to the Gutenberg Museum. Once in your stay for the night of Rüdesheim you can take a stroll or a cable car to view the vineyards from above.

Day 6 you will cross the river Rhine again, leading you to Bingen, which is where the Nahe and Rhine meet as well as four wine-growing regions. While in the area don’t miss the Drususbrücke, built in the 10th century it’s still wonderfully intact, nearby is also the Mäuseturm tower and the Brückenkapelle (Bridge chapel). Your route to Alzey will be mainly on vineyards. In your hotel you will be taught about the diversity of wine by a Sommelier.

Today’s will be another day of less cycling, allowing you to learn more about the wine culture in this area. On this stretch of the tour, you will reach the German wine route and stop in the growing town of Grünstadt.

Time to head back to your start and end point. On this cycle you will have an opportunity to stop and try some local wine, for example in Wachenheim, Forst and Deidesheim. Whilst heading back to your end point, you will go through a region called the “Balcony of the Pfalz”.  From Neustadt you can either head home or extend your stay.

Departure after breakfast and leave the bikes at the hotel.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Challenging

Start point: Neustadt an der Weinstraße

End point: Neustadt

Total distance: approx. 315km

This cycle trip on the German Wine Route is on a hilly route, making it more challenging. There are some paths along the Rhine and Neckar which are flat.

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing (German, English)
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • 3 Wine tastings (German)
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service-Hotline

 

Optional extras
  • Bike rental plus and E-Bikes, including rental bike insurance

 

Things to note
  • Ferry tickets in Nierstein approx. EUR 2,50 / person incl. bike
  • Ferry tickets in Bingen approx. EUR 2,70/person incl. bike
  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 26 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 27 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 28 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 29 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 30 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 31 May - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1189 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1119 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve