Vienna to Budapest

On this bike route you will explore lowland forests, original villages and magical cities. Of course the cities of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest are the best-known on the tour. In Carnuntum and in the Roman castle Kelemantia you find Roman relics from the past.

Discover the diversity of the flora and fauna in the lowland forests. The small villages, which you cycle through, still keep their original charm.  Rye Island, which you will pass through, is a real natural paradise.

Don’t forget the numerous castles and palaces, which are proudly situated nearby the Danube. Overall, this bike tour will inspire and delight everybody!

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £749.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

We recommend that you arrive into Vienna early. This wonderful city on the Danube has so much offer, and it is well worth staying for a longer time. Enjoy a cup of coffee and a traditional Viennese cake (Sachertorte) in one of the numerous coffee houses. Alternatively, you can enjoy a roundtrip in a horse-drawn cab (Fiaker).

The first ride on the tour will guide you through the national park Donau-Auen. There you will be able to discover a great diversity of flora and fauna as well as the beautiful and varied landscape. You will pass the castle Orth and the village of Eckertsau before you reach Bad Deutsch Altenburg. There you can make an excursion on the Roman bike trail (Römerweg) to Carnuntum. This archaeological park is widely considered one of Austria’s most significant archaeological sites. After Hainburg you reach the border to Slovakia and it’s capital city, Bratislava which is your destination for the day, and where you will spend your overnight stay.

After cycling just a short distance in Slovak territory, you will pass the Hungarian border in Rajká. Beofre long, you will discover charming Hungarian villages. This area of the country is heavily influenced by agriculture. Your route then guides you through the area known as Szigetköz (a small Rye Island), which is characterized by numberless side arms of the Danube. Today´s destination is Mosonmagyaróvár which is also commonly known as the “City of 17 Bridges“.

Today you will ride through the unique and delightful landscape of the “Szigetköz” protected area and then on to Györ, one of the most important cities in the Hungarian lowlands and will charm you with its alluring historical city centre. You can enjoy a pleasant walk through the narrow lanes, past the churches and the palaces of the Baroque city centre. King Matthiashimself referred this it as his favorite city! You will finish the day by travelling to Komarom by train.

Today you cycle along the banks of the Slovakian Danube on small roads with very little traffic. You will pass through several quaint and traditional villages. On your way to the “Town of Bishops and Kings”, Esztergom, you will pass the impressive Roman fort of Kelemantia. The largest Catholic Church in Hungary, the Esztergom Basilica, is sure to take your breath away and is well worth a visit! The rest of the distinctive village of Esztergom also proves to be a highlight and glamorous part of the overall tour.

As it winds through the rolling hills, the Danube divides itself, creating the Szentendre Island. Here, you will cycle down the small country roads and through quaint and welcoming villages. Discover the Open-air Museum Skanzen. If you are a fan of shopping, you are sure to enjoy the numerous handicraft boutiques, which also provide the opportunity to buy wonderful Hungarian souvenirs in Szentendre city-center. During the boat- or train ride to Budapest, you will have a fantastic view of some of the most famous sights of Budapest, the capital of Hungary.

Enjoy a day in the buzzing metropolis of Budapest. If you want you can go back to Vienna by bus, and further explore ‘the city of the Waltz’. There are departures by bus scheduled every 2 hours, on a daily basis. The bus has to be booked prior to arrival. Duration of trip approx. 3 hours. On request the bus ialso stops at Vienna International Airport.

In the Hungarian capital city there is so much to entice and entertain. If you are interested in prolonging your tour, we would be pleased to book some extra nights for you. Our transfer from Budapest to Vienna is very comfortable (this can be arranged at additional charge).

Route large icon

Route overview

You cycle on bike trails, ways alongside a dam and partly on relatively quiet side roads. Busy roads are of short-term duration. You cycle on unmade paths only for 3 short distances otherwise you will find asphalted roads. On the whole the route is signed very well with a few exceptions in the Slovakian part. Altogether the tour is relatively easy with slightly increases in some sections.

Total distance cycled: 320 km

Route Map (For guidance only)

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

The Vienna to Budapest cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Subject to confirmation

  • Overnight stays in chosen category
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast (buffet style)
  • If half board: 5x 3-course dinner (in Vienna and Budapest only B&B)
  • Luggage transport from hotel to hotel
  • 7-day Service Hotline
  • Well-planned route guidance
  • Detailed travel documents
  • Personal welcome meeting and bike fitting
  • Boat ticket from Esztergom to Visegrád incl. transfer of bikes (not possible in April, September, and October; boat does not run on Mondays, too – a train ticket is included instead)
  • GPS Tracks on request available

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
  • E Rental Bike Hire and Insurance
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Fri 19 Apr - Fri 26 Apr

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 20 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Wed 01 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Thu 02 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Fri 03 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Sat 04 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sun 05 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Mon 06 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Tue 07 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 01 May - Wed 08 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 02 May - Thu 09 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 03 May - Fri 10 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 04 May - Sat 11 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sun 12 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 06 May - Mon 13 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 07 May - Tue 14 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 08 May - Wed 15 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 09 May - Thu 16 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 10 May - Fri 17 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 11 May - Sat 18 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 12 May - Sun 19 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 13 May - Mon 20 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 14 May - Tue 21 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 15 May - Wed 22 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 16 May - Thu 23 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 17 May - Fri 24 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 18 May - Sat 25 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sun 26 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 20 May - Mon 27 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 21 May - Tue 28 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 22 May - Wed 29 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 23 May - Thu 30 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £749 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve