Tuscany Coastline

Ride along the Tuscan coast from the leaning tower of Pisa to Elba on this self-guided holiday. Combine the hilly landscape of Tuscany with the Etruscan coastline as you follow the vineyards and olive trees to the coast. A real highlight of the trip is the Isle of Elba, the place of Napoleon’s exile.

With picturesque trails winding through national parks, olive groves and vineyards and a host of cultural attractions, this is an unforgettable holiday!

Calender 7 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £959.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

This evening there will be a welcome briefing and rental bikes will be distributed. You can also take some time today to discover Pisa. Visit the exquisite old part of town, you will not be disappointed.

Setting out from Piazza dei Miracoli, home of the Leaning Tower, you will find lovely trails which wind their way through the national park‚ Macchia Lucchese’ and directly to the sea. After riding along, past the sandy beach and the tempting, refreshing waters of the Tyrrhenian Sea, you will come to the charming sea side town and spa Viareggio. At the end of the day, there is only a short train ride back to Pisa.

This morning, you will take a short train ride to Livorno. This charming port city offers a lot to see, including the well-known quarter ‚Venezia Nuova’ with its many canals. The bike tour then continues, past the Belle Epoque villas along the river promenade, and deep into the hinterland. An extended ascent will bring you through the national park  ’Monti Livornesi’, passing through traditional Tuscan villages along the way until you reach the descent, which will bring you down towards the sea, rewarding you with magnificent  sea views as you ride. Today’s accomodation is located close to steep cliffs. The trails along the beach and  swaying palm trees add to the truly Mediterranean atmosphere.

Today’s ride is all about the Etruscan coastline. Heading out along the famous white sandy beaches of Vada you will pass through some of the most striking pine forests in all of Italy. After that, a cool, pleasantly shaded cycle path leads you through the nature park‚ Tomboli’, and then on to Bibbona. From there your journey takes you to the well known wine region of Bolgheri. It is here that the very best Tuscan grapes are pressed! After passing the longest avenue in Italy, which is lined with cypresses, you will find that you are once again heading towards the sea. Marina di Castagneto is a classic Italian sea side town characterized by its many beach cafes and promenades.

Today, you will begin by ascending towards the medieval town called Castagneto Carducci. Here, you can enjoy a well deserved break over a cup of cappuccino and take in the stunning views that you climbed for. Afterwards, the ride continues upwards, on a winding mountain road, through romantic cork oak forests. Take time for a few breaks in the little traditional villages. The memories of the stone built houses will stay in your memory forever.  Now, you can enjoy the descent through olive groves, that takes you to the well-known beach ‚Golfo di Baratti’. Now there are only a few kilometres left until you reach Piombino, an impressive seaside town where you can relax on the Piazza by the sea.

A 1 hour ferry ride will take you to Portoferraio. The first glimpses of the island and stunning scenery will keep you occupied on board. A short cycle path, on a panoramic route, will lead you to several secluded bays and coves. The longer tour takes you through the hilly hinterland with its characteristic island vegetation of the ’Macchia Mediterranea’. The return journey will take you to Piombino, where a picturesque and glorious sunset over the sea will be the perfect ending to the day.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Challenging

At least one cycling holiday a year is pretty much compulsory for you! You are a perfect example of one of our typical guests, who regularly goes out for bike rides at the weekends. Now and again, you like to battle with a long, steep hill or a days cycle ride with an undulating profile. But, in order to have time to enjoy the rest of the ride, the route should then become flatter and more leisurely again afterwards.

The terrain is mainly flat to slightly hilly. The only two strenuous stretches are during the two legs in the hinterland. Nearly all cycle paths are asphalted and some segments along the sea will be on rustic but well maintained trails. Due to lack of cycle paths along some sections, cycling briefly on roads with moderate traffic is unfortunately unavoidable.

Total distance cycled: 215 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details

What’s included

The Tuscany Coast and Elba cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Subject to confirmation

– Overnight stays in the selected category & Standard Bike Hire
– Breakfast buffet
– Personal tour information
– Luggage transfer between hotels
– Excellently planned routes
– Detailed travel information (route maps or overview maps, route description, tourist attractions, important telephone numbers)
– Signposting
– Service hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Rental bike hire
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Thu 30 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 25 May - Fri 31 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sat 01 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sun 02 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 28 May - Mon 03 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 29 May - Tue 04 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 30 May - Wed 05 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 31 May - Thu 06 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sun 07 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Wed 07 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sat 07 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Mon 07 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Sundays

FROM £959 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve