The Swiss Lakes Route

A loop tour that encompasses the Mediterranean feel of Lake Constance with the enchanting high mountains of the Alps. See the stunning Rhine falls near Schaffhausen, the cosmopolitan flare of Zurich and pass over Lake Walen on boat. The final section of the tour will take you to the Appenzell region, home to picturesque scenery.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1049.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Constance you will have a bit of time (depending on your arrival) to do some exploring. You can visit the island of Mainau, take a stroll through Constance’s old town, or even pay a visit to the Sea Life Centre and Archaeological Museum.

As you begin your cycling you will be hugging the side of Lake Constance, until you get to Stein am Rhein, a town filled with beautiful medieval houses. Your route to Schaffhausen will dip into both Germany and Switzerland. The town is the canton’s capital is filled with houses with gables and is watched over by Munot fort.

Have breakfast and then just a stone’s throw away cycling is the Rhine Falls; this is one of the largest waterfalls in Europe which can be visited closely by boat. From here you will be heading to the valley of the Glatt which you will follow to the famous Swiss city of Zurich. In Zurich you can shorten the trip by taking the S-Bahn from Rümlang station. Zurich is an incredible melting pot of tradition and modernity, enjoy it in one of its numerous cafes and bars.

Today’s route will take you alongside the northside of Lake Zurich on the so-called ‘Golden Coast’ until you get to Rapperswil, here you can take a break and go up the old castle enjoying beautiful views of Lake Zurich and the surrounding countryside. Next, it’s time to cross the lake via a dam and then begin cycling on the opposite bank until the quaint town of Lachen.

Cycle along the Linth Canal, this constructed connection between Lake Zurich and Lake Walen is from the 19th century and its job was to prevent bad flooding from the Linth and its tributaries. From Weesen you will take a boat to Walenstadt, here lake Walensee is perfect for a swim whilst being towered by the Churfirsten peaks tower. Not far from here you will get to the valley of the Alpine Rhine, which you will follow until you get to Liechtenstein and your stop for the night.

Peddle along the Rhine on your way to Gais via the cog railway. From here your journey to St. Gallen will be characterised with crazing cows on alpine pastures. Worth visiting in St. Gallen is the library of the collegiate church, one of the most important historical libraries in the world and home to 160.000 books including the oldest German book.

As you head back to your start and end point of Constance, enjoy a downhill section before getting to Arbon. The day’s cycling will take place by the banks of the lake through apple orchards and the quaint towns of Arbon and Romanshorn. Enjoy a flat and straightforward cycle, with the exception of days with strong wind. Along the way there will be many opportunities to stop and take a dip in the refreshing waters of the lake.

Enjoy a last breakfast and then either head home or stay for longer.

Route large icon

Route overview

Start point: Constance

End point: Constance

Total distance: approx. 325km

Much of the route is flat on paved cycle paths and quiet side roads, some parts are a little hillier.

What’s included

7 nights with breakfast in the local 3* category
Luggage transport from hotel to hotel, no limit on the number of pieces, max. 20 kg / piece
Entrance to Rosgarten museum Constance, 1 coffee included
Boat trip to the Rhine Falls rock
Boat trip Weesen – Walenstadt incl. bike
Train ride Altstätten – Gais incl. bike
Cycle route description with maps (1 x per room)
8 day Service Hotline

Not included

Flights to/from the start and finish
Evening meals (unless stated)
Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
Helmets
Water Bottles
Travel Insurance
Bike Insurance (unless stated)
Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
Transfers (unless included)
E-Bike Hire

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Sundays

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1399 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1309 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily until 28.09

FROM £1179 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve