Tauern Round Trip

Despite being named after a majestic mountain range, this relaxed trip goes on valleys along the rivers ‘Salzach’ and ‘Saalach’ and is mostly flat. Salzburg is the excellent start and end point of this tour, being Mozart’s birthplace, it is full of culture. Each section of the tour provides you with incredible landscapes, such as snow-topped mountains and even the biggest waterfall in Europe. Enjoy a truly enchanting trip in a beautiful corner of Europe!

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £789.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Salzburg, get acquainted with Mozart’s city. Enjoy a mooch around the old town and visit Mozart’s birthplace. Collection of bikes in the booked hotel.

As you start your cycling you will be following the river Salzach until you reach your first stop of Hallein. Here you can visit the old salt mines which stopped being used in 1989. Another place worth visiting on the way is ‘Bluntautal‘. Your destination for the day is Golling, make sure you leave time to visit the amazing waterfall here.

Your first stop for today will be Werfen, where you can see the castle ‘Hohenwerfen’ and pay a visit to the incredible ice caves. Another stop is in Bischofshofen where you can see the ski jump where the final of the Four Hills Tournament is held every year. Your stop for the night is in Johann im Pongau, a highlight here is the ‘Lichtensteinklamm’, this is a narrow gorge with a 50-metre waterfall at the end.

After a short time, you will reach Bruck and the entrance to the High Alpine Road, or ‘Großglocknerstraße’. From the start of July, you can take a bus up to the Großglockner, which is Austria’s biggest mountain sitting at 3,797m. If you are a more confident cyclist, you can cycle around Lake Zeller, but you can also opt to chill and have a paddle in the lake. From here there is just a short distance before you get to Kaprun, this is a point with many connections to the high-mountain reservoirs.

Have breakfast in Kaprun and then take the ‘Pinzgaubahn’ to Krimml where you can visit the largest waterfalls in Europe. You can access this amazing area on a well-designed trail. Heading through the ‘Nationalpark Hohe Tauern’ and the ‘Oberpinzgau’ you can see the amazing snow-covered mountains sitting at 3000m.

After a short time, you will be back at Lake Zeller which invites you to take a dip. From here cycle through the ‘Maria Alm’ which is home to a pilgrimage church. Enjoy a lunch break in Saalfelden. Some other points of interest on the way are the Seisenbergklamm and Lamprechtshöhle near Weißbach.

As you head back to Salzburg peddle along the Saalachtal. On route enjoy a stop in the Bavarian Bad Reichenhall, where the Bavarian feel will enchant you. After not too long you will’ve reached Salzburg again. Enjoy a pleasant stroll or glass of something to reflect on your trip.

Enjoy a last breakfast and then either head home or stay for longer. We recommend taking more time to enjoy the amazing city that is Salzburg.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Leisurely

Start point: Salzburg

End point: Salzburg

Total distance: approx. 290km

Cycle on the well-signposted Tauern bike path. Enjoy a pleasant route in quiet and paved paths, as well as country roads. There will be some shorter sections with unpaved paths. There will be some shorter hills to tackle.

What’s included

  • 7 overnights in accommodations of the chosen category
  • Daily breakfast from buffet
  • If half board: Daily 3-course evening meal included (Partly with voucher in a close-by restaurant in walking distance)
  • Luggage transfer from hotel to hotel (No limit in pieces of luggage; each piece with a maximum of 20 kg)
  • 7-day service hotline
  • Well planned route
  • Route description with card material and GPS-Tracks (1 package each room)
  • Ticket for train ´Pinzgaubahn´ from Kaprun to Krimml, incl. bike (The ´Pinzgaubahn´ was damaged by a storm in 2021; the repair work will probably not be completed in 2023 either; in this case there will be a rail replacement service or a bus shuttle as a replacement)
  • Zell am See-Kaprun summer card
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £949 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve