Tauern Bike Path Classic

From Krimml to Passau…

This route is named after a breathtaking mountain range. But you don´t have to worry: You cycle through the mostly flat valleys along the rivers, “Salzach” and “Saalach”. The bike path has a decline of 750 m from your starting point Krimml to the destination Passau. Everyday you will see magical scenic highlights of landscape and culture such as the snow-covered mountains with a height of 3,000 metres. Your cultural expectations will absolutely be satisfied. Riparian forests, small villages and the river “Inn” characterize the second part of the rip to the three-river city Passau. The magnificent and breath-taking bike trip will make you forget the daily routine of your everyday life.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £789.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Krimml is home to the largest European waterfall. You can admire this natural spectacle on a well-designed trail. Your bikes will be available at the booked accommodation.

Todays route runs through the High Tauern National Park and the Oberpinzgau. Snow covered mountains as high as 3,000 feet will guide you the whole way. Lush green meadows alternate with lovely small villages to offer fabulous scenery on your journey. In Kaprun you can use your time to view the Alpine reservoirs “Hochgebirgsstauseen” (high-mountain reservoir).

Use the day for a refreshing bath in the lake Zeller See. The sporty bikers can make an extra tour or maybe you want to make an excursion to the Großglockner, Austria´s highest mountain. You cycle via “Maria Alm” famous for its pilgrimage church. Another highlight on your tour is Saalfelden, the perfect spot for lunch break. Seisenbergklamm and Lamprechtshöhle near Weißbach are the further sights on your way to Lofer.

Today will lead you mostly through the Saalachtal. Bad Reichenhall, in the “small German corner”, enchants you with Bavarian flair. After a short distance you will reach Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Be embraced by its cultural offering and make time for a walk through the city and a visit of Mozart´s birth house.

On this route you will cycle through the foothills of the Alps to leave Salzburg and its Alps. The “Tauern” ends in Tittmoning and from here you follow the trail along the Lower Inn before you will reach your destination Burghausen. Be sure to visit the magnificent old town and largest castle complex in Central Europe.

Cycle along the river Inn up to Braunau, a perfect town for taking a lunch break. Be sure to keep an eye for numerous bird colonies on your way! From here you can follow the bike path on the Bavarian or Austrian side. Your destination Obernberg has a well-known marketplace with Baroque buildings.

You will reach “Stift Reichersberg”, which is well worth a visit. On your route along the river Inn, you will cycle through small towns like Schärding. You can take a break at its Baroque market square. A small journey onwards will allow you to reach the final destination of this beautiful bike trip: Passau. The three-river city has much to offer. In the cathedral of Passau, you will see the largest church organ in the world. A river-cruise would certainly be a perfect grand finale of this wonderful bike ride.

There is a lot to discover in Passau. We will be happy to book an extension of your trip.

Route large icon

Route overview

Self-guided

8 Days │ 7 Nights

Approx. 310 kilometers

Level of difficulty: Leisurely

The Tauern bike path is continuously signposted. The route leads through quiet and paved paths as well as country roads. In parts you will have to cycle on more travelled routes. A few short stages will present unpaved paths. The quality of the trail can be broadly described as very good. Steep inclines are hardly present in this variant and therefore the cycling tour is also suitable for families with children.

What’s included

  • 7 nights in accommodations of the chosen category
  • Daily breakfast from buffet
  • If half board: 7x 3-course dinner included  (Partly with voucher in close-by restaurants in walking distance)
  • Luggage transport from hotel to hotel (No limit in pieces of luggage; each luggage with a maximum of 20 kg)
  • 7-day Service Hotline
  • Well-planned route guidance
  • Detailed travel documents incl. GPS-Tracks (1 package each room)
  • Entrance ticket to waterfalls Krimml
  • If bike rental: Rental bike insurance included
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve