Salzburg to Vienna

This self-guided tour Starts at Mozart’s hometown of Salzburg and finishes in the beautiful City of Vienna. Cycle through Vienna’s wine region, visit Oberndorf, home of the Silent Night carol, and see the impressive castle of Burghausen.

The path takes you through extensive forests, pretty Baroque towns and past churches, castles and monasteries. This is the perfect tour to combine relaxed cycling with delicious food, wine and a host of cultural attractions.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £829.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Arrive at the city of Mozart filled with cultural treasures. Take a relaxing stroll through the old part of town and visit the house where Mozart was born, the cathedral, Mirabell Palace, the castle and the fortress Hohensalzburg, …  welcome briefing and bike fitting.

After the ‘Silent Night’ chapel in Oberndorf, you will cycle through extensive forests to Tittmoning. From here the Nature Adventure Trail ‘Unterer Inn’ runs until Burghausen. The stunning old part of town and the biggest castle site in Middle Europe are the most prominent features in this most memorable town.

After the Gothic town of Braunau and numerable bird colonies the path leads to Obernberg.  Take a close look and visit the Monastery in Reichersberg. Just like a string of pearls the small towns along the river Inn appear and without question, one of them is the Baroque town of Schärding with its famous colourful row of houses on the main square called the ‘Silberzeile’.

Along the Inn into the town of Passau where 3 rivers meet. We highly recommend a tour around town including a visit to the dome (biggest church organ in the world). Along the Danube via Obernzell and Engelhartszell (the only Austrian Trappist monastery) and then through the nature reserve Donauleiten until you get to the ‚Schlögener Schlinge’. Ferry transfer to hotel. (on your own)

The well-known ‘Donauschlinge’ is one of many highlights on this particular cycle tour. Aschach, Ottensheim and Wilhering, three small towns along the Danube, pave the way for the grand arrival in Linz, the county capital. In the old historic part of town countless cafes and inns invite you to take a well-deserved break. Finally, you cycle to Enns, the oldest town in Austria (town square with tower, museum Lauriacum).

Follow the Danube into the pretty little Baroque town of Grein (theater, maritime museum, Grein castle). Via the once feared Strudengau into Austria’s wine region to Marbach or Maria Taferl, home of a pilgrimage church located impressively high above the Danube.

After the stunning monastery of Melk, small romantic towns in the wonderful vine region ‚Wachau’ like Weißenkirchen, Dürnstein and Krems will enchant you. Take the train to Austria’s capital, Vienna, with its countless sights and interesting places to see.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Leisurely

You very much prefer to cycle along the flat. well-established cycle paths, which have lots of good places to stop on, simply bring a smile to your face. You don’t actually get your bike out the garage much at home, but you have the urge to give cycling holiday a go!

Mostly, you will find yourself on slightly hilly terrain with a few short climbs in the vineyards. The majority of the route will be cycled on bike paths, the rest on field and forest paths, country lanes, and minor roads with little traffic. Only a few very short sections run on roads with more traffic.

Total distance cycled: 375 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

The Salzburg to Vienna cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Included Services (Subject to confirmation)

  • Accommodation in your selected category
  • Breakfast buffet
  • If half board is booked: every day a 3 course meal (Vienna incl. breakfast)
  • Luggage transfer between the hotels
  • Developed route
  • Detailed travel documents (route maps, route description, local attractions, important telephone numbers)
  • Welcome briefing
  • Donaucard in Upper Austria
  • Train journey from Krems to Vienna, incl. your bike
  • GPS-data is available
  • Rental bike insurance
  • Service hotline

Not Included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
  • Rental Bike Available.
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 26 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 27 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 28 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 29 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 30 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 31 May - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £899 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve