Ring of Kerry

This tour both starts and finishes in Killarney. This village is a popular stop on the Ring of Kerry route and sits, shadowed by the MacGillikuddy Reeks and adjacent to the famous Muckross National Park. The route will take you deep into the Iveragh Peninsula, along quiet backroads toward the villages of Sneem and Glenbeigh.

Later, you will head towards the Dingle Peninsula, the most westerly point in Europe. Here you will see the dramatic Slea Head coast and can ride among Neolithic ruins with wonderful views out to the Skelling and Blasket Islands. We will take a rest in the town of Dingle, where you will find a great array of local shops and restaurants to explore. The weary may pause for a well-earned pint in the famous Dick Macs pub, which doubles up as a cobbler!

You can give your legs a good stretch on Connor Pass and enjoy the stunning vistas of the peninsula from its lofty perch, before enjoying the well-earned, downhill glide to lunch. On the final day, you will ride through the Gap of Dunloe and Black Valley, a dramatic, and fitting finish to a breathtaking tour. All too soon, you will find yourself back in Killarney, and at the end of the trip.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £1049.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

On arrival in Killarney you should make your way to your accommodation. If you have time you could visit nearby Ross Castle a wonderfully restored 16th Century Norman Tower House overlooking Lough Leane. You can even hire a boat from here and row out to a 6th Century monastic site located on one of the nearby islands.

The tour starts off by following a cycle track into the beautiful grounds of Muckross House which you can visit, as well as a Franciscan Abbey founded in the 15th Century, now in ruins but beautifully situated with a large yew tree rising up through the cloisters. There follows a wonderful cycle between the Killarney lakes before a steady climb follows to your lunch stop at Molls Gap. You are rewarded with delicious food and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Our journey continues to the colourful village of Sneem.

Avoiding the main Ring of Kerry road you cycle across the peninsula. Cycling along quiet roads with stunning views, you climb up to the beautiful Gap of Ballaghbearna and descend into a valley with views of Carrauntoohil, Ireland’s highest mountain. After lunch, there is a wonderful cycle to Caragh Lake which you follow to the seaside village of Glenbeigh where you spend the night in a comfortable hotel.

You start the day with a short coach trip to Dingle where you are based for two nights. You follow the Slea Head Route around the tip of the Dingle peninsula. This is one of the highlights of the tour with a wide variety of archaeological sites to visit along the route and some of the most breathtaking coastal scenery in the country.

A variety of activities can be organised from the town. You can join an archaeological bus tour of the peninsula or you can swap your bike saddle for a horse saddle and go horse riding. There are boat trips to the largest of the Blasket Islands with its wonderful walking trails. You can also simply potter around the town with its many shops and aquarium.

The morning starts with a long steady climb up to the Conor Pass with views of Mount Brandon and the coastline in the distance. There follows a wonderful descent and then along the coast to the village of Camp for lunch. In the afternoon back into the mountains to traverse the peninsula heading up over one side of the mountains to views of the other side of the peninsula with Dingle Bay and Ireland’s highest mountain range stretching out in front of you, to the final stretch to our night stop in Killorglin.

In the morning you cycle to Kate Kearney’s Cottage where you can stop for a cup of tea. You then enter the final highlight of the tour, the Gap of Dunloe, a place you will never forget. Coming out of the Gap you have an incredible view looking down the Black Valley, heading into a peaceful valley surrounded by green fields full of grazing sheep, to return to Molls Gap and on towards a wonderful freewheel back down to Killarney for a final night on the tour.

Route large icon

Route overview

You will ride on mainly quiet roads. Although there are some steep climbs, mostly the landscape is rolling. Generally, there will be some climbing each day. But your efforts are well worth if for the views!

Start/ End Point: Killarney

Daily Distance: 47-69km

Weekly Total: 280km

Difficulty: Challenging

What’s included

TOUR INCLUDES:
7 nights accommodation with breakfast
(mix of small hotels and guesthouses)
1 evening meal
Transfer from Glenbeigh to Dingle
Luggage transfer
24-hour service hotline
GPS tracks available (on request)

 

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

FROM £1089 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 20 Oct - Sun 27 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 21 Oct - Mon 28 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 22 Oct - Tue 29 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 23 Oct - Wed 30 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 24 Oct - Thu 31 Oct

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 25 Oct - Fri 01 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 26 Oct - Sat 02 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 27 Oct - Sun 03 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 28 Oct - Mon 04 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 29 Oct - Tue 05 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 30 Oct - Wed 06 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 31 Oct - Thu 07 Nov

FROM £1049 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve