Provence Highlights

Discover the highlights of Provence on this self-guided cycling tour. Ride through the famous wine town of Chateauneuf du Pape and enjoy a tipple in the wine tasting area of the Cote du Rhone.

Visit the lovely town of Avignon with its picturesque old town and papal palace and enjoy the scent of herbs as you ride through the Provencal countryside. Suitable for beginners and first time cycle-tourists, this is a popular trip for all the family.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £959.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Enjoy the city with the wonderful architectural monuments from Roman times. The great theatre and the triumph arch are historical witnesses from this epoch.

The old town attracts with Provençal charm as well as small pretty shops and cafés.

The first stage takes you into the world-famous wine town Châteauneuf-du-Pape. A stroll through the town should not be missed. You ride on to the city of Avignon along the Rhône cycle paths, without the bother of car traffic.

We recommend a stroll through the old town (guided options include a guided tour of the city) with a visit to the papal palace.

Without much ado and once again with hardly any traffic you leave the town and cycle directly to St. Rémy, probably the most beautiful and certainly the most typical town in the Provence.

Nothing surpasses the hustle and bustle, the blaze of colour and the richness of herb scents under the shadow-offering plane trees in the ancient alleys of the old town.

The effort of the ascent to the Alpilles is rewarded with great views of the Les Baux. Because of the harmonic location of the vil-lage and because of the fortress ruins, Les Baux is also known as the “city in rock”. Chosen small paths and tiny streets take you to Arles.

Roman culture and Romanesque heritage characterise the cityscape and the history of Arles. Arles was the second-biggest city of the Roman Empire; it is also the city of Vincent van Gogh. Your hotel accommodates you for the next two nights.

Half sea, half land – the Camargue is an unique natural landscape with Bračkish water lakes, vast salt steppes, wild horses and the famous pink flamingos.

Small paths take you into the unique nature reserve. In Mejanes with the Arena you have the opportunity of travelling with a small train through unspoilt nature and to admire, with some luck, flamingos and wild bulls.

The route takes you on almost traffic-free paths back to Arles (guided options include a guided tour of the city).

In the morning you cycle to the cities Tarascon and Beaucaire. Both cities are placed beside the Rhône River. There are a lot of nice places and castle of the 12th century. Visit a café in Beaucaire and enjoy a pause beside the riverbank.

The charm of the city Beaucaire invites you to stay and relax. In Nîmes numerous well-preserved buildings are evidence of the Romans. Visit the arena, the Maison Carrée or the Tour Magne. Or enjoy the modern part of the city the “Carré d´art” of Norman Foster.

The fortress of Tarascon, located high above the Rhône, accompanies you for a while through the vineyards of Costières-de-Nimes.

About noon you will already see Pont-du-Gard, the famous aqueduct from Roman times, world heritage as well.

Aromatic plants such as lavender, thyme and rosemary accompany you into the pretty Provençal town of Uzès, which attracts with its magical, medieval charm.

Among other places of interest, the unique market square, surrounded by arcades, is worthwhile.

Today the landscape changes once again. The last stage takes you through the hilly landscape of the Garrigue, with its oaks and Mediterranean herbs.

Later on, the vineyards and the lovely orchards of the Provence take over once again.

On the other side of the river you cycle through other famous wine regions of the Côte du Rhône (Lirac, Laudan) and reach the city of Orange again in the afternoon.

Depart after breakfast.

Route large icon

Route overview

Apart from a few small ascents in the hilly landscapes of the Garrigue and the Alpilles, the route is easy and varied, suitable even for inexperienced cyclists. You mostly bike on small streets with less traffic and on asphalted paths.

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

The Provence Highlights cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast buffet or extensive breakfast
  • Welcome briefing

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Fri 19 Apr - Fri 26 Apr

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 20 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Wed 01 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Thu 02 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Fri 03 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Sat 04 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sun 05 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Mon 06 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Tue 07 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 01 May - Wed 08 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 02 May - Thu 09 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 03 May - Fri 10 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 04 May - Sat 11 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sun 12 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 06 May - Mon 13 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 07 May - Tue 14 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 08 May - Wed 15 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 09 May - Thu 16 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 10 May - Fri 17 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 11 May - Sat 18 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 12 May - Sun 19 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 13 May - Mon 20 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 14 May - Tue 21 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 15 May - Wed 22 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 16 May - Thu 23 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 17 May - Fri 24 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 18 May - Sat 25 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sun 26 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 20 May - Mon 27 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 21 May - Tue 28 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 22 May - Wed 29 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 23 May - Thu 30 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1059 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Saturdays and Mondays

FROM £959 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve