Elbe Cycle Path: Prague to Dresden

Start in the Czech Republic’s impressive capital city of Prague, a true gem full of history and things to do. The tour will take you to Dresden, home to the Zwinger Palace, Semperoper (Opera house) and the Frauenkirche (church of women). However, you won’t arrive in Dresden before visiting some other delights on the way.

Cycling along the Moldau (Vltava) and Elbe rivers you will pass copious beautiful villages and charming landscapes. Soak in the breathtaking, extensive views from the Elbe Sandstone Mountains. What would you prefer, the two cities of Dresden and Prague or the more idyllic natural landscapes that lay between?

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £639 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Arrival at your own time and pace and go to an evening welcome briefing and receive bike if renting one.

A day to enjoy the Czech capital and “Golden City” and its many sights. Enjoy the Hradschin and royal palace, cross over the Karlsbrücke (Charles bridge) or spend a night on the town with Prague’s infamous nightlife.

Pedal along the Moldau River. Appreciate gorgeous views from the rock of Melnik’s castle, the view shows you the rivers Moldau and Elbe meeting. Melnik is right in the heart of the bohemian wine-growing region.

You will pass Roudnice and then arrive in Theresienstadt, a fortress-city. On just a few more kilometres you will reach your home for the night of Litomerice (Leitmeritz) which has gorgeous, typical buildings.

Cycle 20km onto the city of Usti and Laben (Aussig). On route you may also want to pay a visit to the magnificent Schreckenstein castle ruin which sits right beside the river. In the afternoon you will reach Decin, your home for the night.

Today you’ll cross the border into Germany and be quickly greeted with some dramatic rocks. Following the river Elbe you will reach the fortress “Königsstein” and you will see beautiful valleys along the route. Your stop for the night will be Pirna.

On route to your final destination of Dresen, pass by the castle Pillnitz. Once you arrive in Dresden learn about the city’s culture and view some of the beautiful buildings.

Enjoy one last breakfast and either head home or extend your stay.

Route large icon

Route overview

Start point: Prague

End point: Dresden

Total distance: approx. 225 km

Difficulty: Easy

Self-guided tour with moderate difficulty. There are a few steady hills, but the route is mostly on the Elbe Cycle Path. A minimal number of paths are unpaved.

Bike hire options

This cycling holiday benefits from high-quality bike hire options that have been carefully selected for the tour. Each well-maintained bike has modern V-brakes, aluminium wheels and puncture-proof tyres based around a KTM frame. Dynamo lights, small panniers, repair accessories, a handlebar bag and a comfortable saddle ensure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable cycle tour. Rental bike insurance is included in every booking.


Standard Unisex Bike 21/24-gears

Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 43 cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 190 cm)


Standard Men’s Bike 21-gears with crossbar

Sizes: 63 / 60 / 56-51 cm (heights approx. 165 cm to 205 cm)


Rental Bike PLUS
Rental Bike PLUS is designed for a slightly sportier sitting position and finely tuned gears offer excellent riding flexibility. The KTM aluminium frame has a high-quality Suntour suspension fork and puncture-proof tyres.
Sizes: 63 / 60 / 55 / 51 / 50 / 46 cm (heights approx. 155 cm to 205 cm)


Unisex Electric Bike
The electric bikes available on this tour assist up to 25 km/h whilst pedalling. The pedalec motor is in the bottom bracket of the frame and the detachable batteries last for approximately 120 km. Each bike has an illuminated LCD and 8-speed internal hub gears. They weigh 23 kg and have a back-pedal brake. Only limited numbers are available.
Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 46 ‘xs’ cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 195 cm)

What’s included

  • 7 overnights in hotels as mentioned
  • Breakfast buffet or extended breakfast
  • Personal welcome tour briefing (German, English)
  • Detailed travel documents, route cards, route description, sight-seeing, telephone numbers) (German, English, French)
  • At best-elaborated route
  • Luggage transfer from hotel to hotel
  • Insurance rental bike
  • GPS-tracks available on demand
  • 7-days-service-hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike hire (optional supplements, with rental bike insurance included)
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person sharing a double/twin room and exclude flights.

To book, please select a day of the week the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Get our latest NEWS and promotions straight to your inbox HERE

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £719 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £689 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £639 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £639 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

FROM £639 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

call 01706 618155 for all bookings and enquiries

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve