Paradores

Enjoy a touch of luxury as you cycle through the sweeping landscapes of central Spain staying in beautifully restored historic Parador Hotels. This self-guided, grand cycling tour will allow you to discover a new Parador each night where you’ll enjoy the best cuisine that the heartland of Spain has to offer. Along the way experience the wild beauty of Monfragüe National Park, a birdlife paradise, with eagles and vultures swooping overhead. Take in the magnificent architecture in Oropesa, Plasencia and Trujillo, towns built by the explorers who returned from the Americas before reaching your final destination, the UNESCO World Heritage city of Caceres with its impressive medieval monuments and main square.

Calender 7 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1039.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Enjoy your first Parador and explore the historic town when you arrive in Oropesa, which is easily reached by train from Madrid.

Your tour begins today as you head towards the foothills of the Gredos Mountains, to the beautifully restored castle of Jarandilla de la Vera where you’ll stay the night. Along the way, cycle through typical Mediterranean woodland, the granite cliffs of the Gredos providing stunning views.

Continue through more peaceful countryside today as you cycle to the medieval market town of Plasencia with its beautiful cathedral and historic town centre. This walled town has long enjoyed a strategic location on the historic ‘Ruta de la Plata’, nestled on the bank of the Jerte river. Take the longer route today for the chance to visit the beautiful 16th century Monasterio de Yuste, set in stunning oak woodland.

Cycling South towards the Tajo River, you will reach the National Park of Monfragüe, a well-known place for all ornithologists.  This farming landscape is dedicated to raising Spain’s famous wild bulls and the black “iberico” pig which provides us with the delicious ‘jamon iberico’. You’ll find tonight’s accommodation in a fabulous Country Farm hotel.

Today’s destination is one of Spain’s finest gems, the town of Trujillo, reached through typical Mediterranean woodland. Hernan Cortes, Francisco Pizarro along with several more famous conquistadors of Spain called this region home. The perfectly preserved architecture of the town and the impressive bronze statue of Francisco Pizzaro is evidence of the legacy of the conquest.

Your journey continues as you spend this final day cycling through the beautiful small villages and impressive landscapes that line the route to your final destination of Caceres. Explore this UNESCO World Heritage City which is full of twisting, narrow cobbled streets lined with palaces and mansions whose architecture reflects a blend of Roman, Islamic, Northern Gothic and Italian Renaissance influences.

Departure or extend your stay to discover Caceres or Madrid.

Route large icon

Route overview

This route for this 7-day tour is rated as moderate+. Each stage covers fairly long distances with perhaps four ascents per day along tarmacked roads (only 1% of this route is on cycle tracks). The average daily distance covered is 52km with an average climb of 460m.

Total distance cycled: 261-283 km

Starting point of the cycling holidayOropesa

What’s included

6 nights’ accommodation.

6 breakfasts.

Luggage transfers between hotels.

Telephone Emergency Support in English and Spanish. Mobile Tel: +34 689 257 820

Optional extras:

Extra nights in any of the Paradors or in Madrid

Transfers

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Thu 30 May

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 25 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 28 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 29 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 30 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 31 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve