Neckar, Rhine and Vines

When taking this cycle tour, you are in for a unique experience. Imagine cherry, almond and apple trees growing when there is still snow on the ground; here it is a reality. You may have also never seen kiwis, figs, grapes, and tobacco grow, let alone by the side of the road – let yourself be amazing by the sight of it here. Enjoy unbeatable hospitality whilst enjoying warm summer temperatures on bike routes with numerous views and scenes to see.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £1009 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After travelling to your start point you will have a briefing and bike fitting, spend the evening acquainting yourself with the wine capital of Germany. Meander through narrow quaint alleyways, highlights include the impressive abbey church and the Elwedritschenbrunnen fountain.

Your first day on bike awaits! Peddle through quaint wine villages and towns with great attractions to experience. In Landau you will see the old fort and can pay a visit to the “Altes Kaufhaus”, a medieval market hall which is situated on the main square of Rathausplatz. From Castle Landeck, appreciate a pleasant view of the famous Rhine Valley. In your destination for the day of Bad Bergzabern we recommend visiting the Baroque palace, the historic Inn “Engel” and the Westwall Museum

One of today’s highlights will be cycling through the Schweigen wine gate and its unique structure. Enter briefly into France and pass through the city of Wissembourg which is home to a beautiful stone abbey. After enjoying some architectural delights, pass through the green forest of Bienwald and lush Valley Lauteral and then onto the river Rhine. Your destination for the night will be Rastatt, which has an incredible and extensive baroque residence.

The morning’s cycle will lead you along the famous and beautiful River Rhine, full of nature’s beauty. Your first stop of the day will be Karlsruhe, famous for its perfectly symmetrical castle. After seeing the beautiful and characteristic buildings of Karlsruhe, you will head through the Hördter Rheinauen, which boasts the title of the largest nature reserve of the Pflaz region. Your stop for the night will be Germersheim, a city previously surrounded by walls.

Let the Rhine guide you to Speyer, the eternal resting pace of Holy German Emperors and Kings. This city has a majestic cathedral and has UNESCO World Heritage Site status. You’ll also take a stop in Schwetzingen, home to a palace with extensive and intricately designed gardens. Your final stop for the day will be in Heidelberg, this is famous for being Germany’s oldest university town and its gorgeous architecture.

Time to say goodbye to the Rhine and hello to the river Neckar. Your first port of call will be Ladenburg, a city whose settlements date back 3000 years. Your cycling will stop for the day in Worms, an imperial town with attractions such as the St Peter cathedral, Luther memorial and the largest Jewish cemetery in Europe.

Time to say goodbye to the Rhine and hello to the river Neckar. Your first port of call will be Ladenburg, a city whose settlements date back 3000 years. Your cycling will stop for the day in Worms, an imperial town with attractions such as the St Peter cathedral, Luther memorial and the largest Jewish cemetery in Europe.

As your trip starts to loop back, you will be on the northern part of the German Wine Road. If you have time on your journey, we recommend visiting Neuleiningen and Freinsheim which their historical old towns. Bad Dürkheim is the destination of the day and has the world’s biggest wine barrel to visit!

Time to head back to your start and end point. On this cycle you will have an opportunity to stop and try some local wine, for example in Wachenheim, Forst, and Deidesheim. Whilst heading back to your end point, you will go through a region called the “Balcony of the Pfalz”, a true fairy-tale area.  From Neustadt you can either head home or extend your stay.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Challenging

Start point: Neustadt an der Weinstraße

End point: Neustadt

Total distance: approx. 315km

This cycle trip on the German Wine Route is on a hilly route, making it more challenging. There are some paths along the Rhine and Neckar which are flat.

Bike hire options

This cycling holiday benefits from high-quality bike hire options that have been carefully selected for the tour. Each well-maintained bike has modern V-brakes, aluminium wheels and puncture-proof tyres based around a KTM frame. Dynamo lights, small panniers, repair accessories, a handlebar bag and a comfortable saddle ensure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable cycle tour. Rental bike insurance is included in every booking.


Standard Unisex Bike 21/24-gears

Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 43 cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 190 cm)


Standard Men’s Bike 21-gears with crossbar

Sizes: 63 / 60 / 56-51 cm (heights approx. 165 cm to 205 cm)


Rental Bike PLUS
Rental Bike PLUS is designed for a slightly sportier sitting position and finely tuned gears offer excellent riding flexibility. The KTM aluminium frame has a high-quality Suntour suspension fork and puncture-proof tyres.
Sizes: 63 / 60 / 55 / 51 / 50 / 46 cm (heights approx. 155 cm to 205 cm)


Unisex Electric Bike
The electric bikes available on this tour assist up to 25 km/h whilst pedalling. The pedalec motor is in the bottom bracket of the frame and the detachable batteries last for approximately 120 km. Each bike has an illuminated LCD and 8-speed internal hub gears. They weigh 23 kg and have a back-pedal brake. Only limited numbers are available.
Sizes: 56 / 51 / 46 / 46 ‘xs’ cm (heights approx. 148 cm to 195 cm)

What’s included

  • Accommodation in your selected category
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing
  • Luggage transfer
  • Well- developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike hire (optional supplements, with rental bike insurance included)
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person sharing a double/twin room and exclude flights.

To book, please select a day of the week the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Get our latest NEWS and promotions straight to your inbox HERE

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £1009 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

call 01706 618155 for all bookings and enquiries

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve