Munich to Salzburg via Lake Chiemsee

Cycle from Munich to Salzburg on this self-guided holiday that links two iconic cities.

Cycle along the Isar Cycle Path and follow beautiful trails and Alpine roads through typical Bavarian towns, passing many cultural attractions on route.

After crossing the border between Bavaria and Austria you will end your tour in the fascinating city of Salzburg, the home of Mozart, where you will have ample time to explore, relax and indulge in some well-earned Austrian delicacies.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £1049.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Today there will be a briefing, where you can gather information for the forthcoming tour. Rental bikes will also be distributed, and bike fitting will take place. Welcome to Munich, the capital of Bavaria. Why not start off your tour, by visiting one of the many beer gardens. You can get into the mood for the bike tour by drinking a “Radlermaß” (a glass of beer and lemonade).

Today’s route will take you on the Isar cycle path. You will ride through green forests, via Wolfratshausen and Geretsried, to Bad Tölz. This town, located at the crossroads of two major trade routes, quickly became a thriving trading centre, in times gone by. The ornate mansions that still stand to this day, are a testament to this golden age.

On your second ride, you will cycle through the scenic landscape of Lake Tegernsee, passing over some gently rolling hills, before you reach Lake Tegernsee. In Gmund you can stop to take in the magnificent panoramic view of the lake. We recommend either taking a boat trip or even going for a swim! Later, the route will continue, taking you along the Bodensee-Königssee bike path until you reach Lake Schliersee.

Today’s ride will begin directly along the banks of the lake shore and then onto slightly hillier roads, as you head into Bad Feilnbach. This area benefits from a mild climate and features more than 30,000 fruit trees, due to this, it is often referred to as the ‘Bavarian Merano’.

Your ride will continue through the largest peat mining area of Bavaria, the Kollerfilze. Soon you will find yourself in Neubeuern. All over the town, you will see two crossed ship hooks. This is the emblem of Neubeuern and is a reference to the shipbuilding industry, which once was the main source of income for thee town.  After Neubeuern, you will cycle, via Frasdorf at the foot of the Chiemgau Mountains, to Lake Chiemsee. The “Bavarian sea”, as the lake is sometimes known, is the largest lake in Bavaria, and is a well-known recreation area, which can offer many pastimes to its visitors. We can also recommend taking a boat trip to the islands Herrenchiemsee and Frauenchiemsee, the largest of the lake’s islands, which are both home to fascinating historical sites.

Although the surrounding mountains are getting higher and higher, the bike path you are following stays almost flat. You will cycle through the “Bergener Moos” at the foot of Mount Hochfelln (1,674 metres), via Bad Adelholzen (healing spring), to Siegsdorf (natural history museum). From there, your journey will continue, along the river Rote Traun, until you reach the traditional town of Inzell. The famous Lüftlmalerei paintings on the beautifully decorated town houses are typical of this sort of health resort.

Today, you will head out on narrow paths, that will take you between the mountains, along the German Alpine Road via Schneitzlreuth and along the river Saalach to Bad Reichenhall (saline building, cathedral St. Zeno, spa park). On your return journey, you will cycle across the border between Bavaria and Austria to reach your final destination, Salzburg.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Challenging

At least one cycling holiday a year is pretty much compulsory for you! You are a perfect example of one of our typical guests, who regularly goes out for bike rides at the weekends. Now and again, you like to battle with a long, steep hill or a days cycle ride with an undulating profile. But, in order to have time to enjoy the rest of the ride, the route should then become flatter and more leisurely again afterwards.

In general, this is a rather easy, though partially hilly tour.

Especially during the stages from Bad Tölz to Bad Feilenbach, there are some climbs to be cycled.

You will find yourself partly on bicycle paths, and mostly on service roads and minor roads. Munich to Salzburg via Lake Chiemsee.

Total distance cycled: 295 km

Starting point of the cycling holidayMunich

What’s included

The Munich to Salzburg via Lake Chiemsee cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Included Services (Subject to confirmation)

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast buffet
  • If half board is booked: every day a 3 course meal
  • Welcome briefing
  • Luggage transfer between the hotels
  • Detailed travel documents (route maps, route description, local attractions, important telephone numbers)
  • GPS-data is available

Not Included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Hire & Rental Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Fri 19 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 20 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Wed 01 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Thu 02 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Fri 03 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Sat 04 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Sun 05 May

Sundays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Mon 06 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Tue 07 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Wed 08 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 01 May - Thu 09 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 02 May - Fri 10 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 03 May - Sat 11 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 04 May - Sun 12 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 05 May - Mon 13 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 06 May - Tue 14 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 07 May - Wed 15 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 08 May - Thu 16 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 09 May - Fri 17 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 10 May - Sat 18 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 11 May - Sun 19 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 12 May - Mon 20 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Mon 13 May - Tue 21 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Tue 14 May - Wed 22 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Wed 15 May - Thu 23 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Thu 16 May - Fri 24 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Fri 17 May - Sat 25 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sat 18 May - Sun 26 May

Sundays

FROM £1119 P/P

Sun 19 May - Mon 27 May

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 20 May - Tue 28 May

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 21 May - Wed 29 May

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 22 May - Thu 30 May

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 23 May - Fri 31 May

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 24 May - Sat 01 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sun 02 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 26 May - Mon 03 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 27 May - Tue 04 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 28 May - Wed 05 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 29 May - Thu 06 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 30 May - Fri 07 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 31 May - Sat 08 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Mon 08 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Thu 08 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sun 08 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Sundays

FROM £1169 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve