Munich Lakes Tour Plus

Allow yourself to fully unwind in some of central Europe’s most gorgeous lakes and mountain landscapes. These Bavarian sights and quaint villages offer a true feeling of tradition and are fit for a postcard. Also enjoy the hustle and bustle of the region’s capital in Munich, a world-famous city with museums, culture and breweries.

Calender 6 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1079.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your way to the capital of Bavaria have a quick tour briefing and bike fitting and then head out into the city and see some of the famous sights, the English Garden, the Town hall on Marienplatz and Hofbräuhaus.

Time to get on the saddle and start cycling! Peddle through Forstenrieder Park onto Lake Starnberg, where you will hug the lake to Seeshaupt. Pass through picturesque Bavarian towns, the blue “Osterseen” lakes and reflective Lake Riegsee until you get to your stay for the night of Murnau am Staffelsee.

Kick off the day’s cycling through the Murnauer Moos, a nature reserve owning the title of largest swamp area in Central Europe. After passing through the reserve, continue through untouched nature along the Loisach River until you get to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. You will only have a short amount of time here, meaning there is time to take an additional trip with the mountain railway the Zugspitzbahn. This is almost 3000 metres high, so imaginably provides incredible views of the Alps.

Ditch the peddles for rail for this leg of the journey, where you will travel to Scharnitz. Once you get here you will get back on the peddles to head upwards to the spring of the river Isar, passing impressive gorges sprinkled with magical alpine meadows. Next, head through a bright valley accompanied with a backdrop of extensive mountain views, including the Karwendel and Wettersteingebirge. Finally pass through Mittenwald before arriving in Wallgau, a place where you will feel the true spirit of Bavarian tradition with its wooden-rooved houses and hanging baskets.

After seeing the unmissable Isarwinkel, cycle along the turquoise waters of Lake Sylvenstein, surrounded by luscious green vegetation. Today will be filled with romantic scenery as you pass through Lenggries and then eventually end up in Bad Tölz. This finds itself on a meeting point of two important trading routes: the river Isar and the old salt route from Reichenhall to Allgäu. Have a true feel for the age of the area with the baroque mansions.

Continue along the Isar bike path via Bad Tölz, Geretsried and Wolfratshausen which take you right to Grünwald. This leg of the tour does have a few hills to climb before you get back to Munich. Enjoy this time to see Munich’s multiple attractions; there is truly something for everyone here.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate

Start point: Munich

End point: Munich

Total distance: approx. 260km

A relatively easy tour. There are just a few shorter climbs to do uphill on your bike. Most of the route will be on well-built (and scenic) bike paths, with a few main roads being used for shorter distances. The only non-pathed sections will be on forest tracks, which are in good condition anyway.

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike hire
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing (German, English)
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • 1 train journey from Garmisch Partenkirchen – Scharnitz excl. bike
  • 1 veal sausage breakfast
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline
Optional extras
  • Half-board evening meal (mostly multi-course, sometimes outside the property, payable with voucher, in Munich BB
  • Bike rental plus & E-Bikes, including rental bike insurance
Things to note
  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
  • Bike ticket for train journey to Garmisch – Scharnitz approx. € 5/bike
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Wed 29 May

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 25 May - Thu 30 May

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 26 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 28 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 29 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 30 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 31 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1079 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve