Merano to Lake Garda

Whatever the season, a bike trip in South Tyrol is always worth it. Due to its shining ice caves, towering mountains, luscious orchards, and plentiful vineyards your journey will be transformed into a fairy-tale and exciting adventure. Enter the valley and cycle along the Adige to Bolzano. Relax and recharge your batteries whilst enjoying a bottle of the world-famous “Kalterer” wine. Enjoy your comfortable journey on well-kept and beautiful cycle paths all the way to Lake Garda – the last but by all means not least location on this tour.

Calender 7 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £919.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Say hello to Merano and find your travel documents and rental bikes (if booked) at the hotel.

Be welcomed aboard the “Vinschgaubahn” train line and head onto the mountain pass of “Reschenpass”. This train journey will take you to the town of Mals then onto Glurns, which has an intact medieval city wall). Before reaching your destination of Merano you’ll also pass the Montani ruins and Schlanders. The skyline is sprinkled from above with castles and palaces, one of which is the Juval Castle that is owned by Austrian mountaineer Reinhold Messner. Along the route you will also be able to soak in the amazing views of ‘Ortler’ massif and the ‘Stilfserjoch’. There is an option to shorten this section should you want to.

You’ll take this route via Lana where you can see the Schnatterpeck Altar, passing several orchards and vineyards on the way, which are a common feature of the South Tyrolean Wine Route. You can also expect views of fortified castles, palaces, and ruins until you get to Eppan. You’ll also travel along the base of Sigmundskron Castle where you can visit the Messner-Mountain Museum and onto Bolzano where you can visit the Ötzi museum.

Choose one of two options to get to Lake Caldero: bike paths with some slight gradients via Eppan, or a flat route along the Adife dam until you reach the enchanting wine village of Auer.

Now it’s time to leave Auer and carry on along the Adige dam cycle path, once passing the ‘Salurner Klause’ you’ll also reach the end of the German speaking part of South Tyrol. The Adige dam path will guide you through the renowned Trentino wine regions and into the ancient diocesan town of Trento. Here you will find the charming old town where you can visit the cathedral and Buonconsiglio Palace.

Say goodbye to the Adige Valley just after passing the border town of Roverto. In Mori a taste of the world-famous pistachio ice cream awaits you in the Gelataria Bologna! Afterwards will come a slightly sharper climb (approx. 150 metres) over the short San Giovanni Pass, then you will descend to the lake. Your bicycle tour will conclude in Rova or Torbole.

Route large icon

Route overview

Starting point: Merano

Finishing point: Lake Garda

Easy cycle route predominantly on cycle paths. Some small gradients towards Lake Caldaro and Lake Garda.

Total distance cycled: 235 km

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • 1 Train journey with the ‘Vinschgaubahn’ to Mals incl. your bike
  • 1 Pistachio ice-cream on the way to Lake Garda
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline
Optional extras
  • E-Bike Rental
  • Return transfer by minibus to Meran every Saturday, Sunday and Monday morning and Tuesday (occasionally) afternoon, costs EUR 59 per person, EUR 19 extra for your own bike, to be paid in advance, reservation is necessary
Things to note
  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Thu 30 May

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 25 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 28 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 29 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 30 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 31 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve