Bike Tour through Lower Franconia

This tour starts and ends in Rothenberg, a city known for its romantic medieval feel. Whilst completing your loop you will see traditional timber-framed villages and towns, castles, palaces, and monasteries. You will firstly be following the course of the Tauber before crossing the ridge and joining with the river Main. The Tauber Valley is beautiful, and you will greeted along the way by undeniable Franconian hospitality.

Calender 7 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £699.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Rothenberg, get acquainted with this romantic, medieval town which has inspired artists such as Spitzweg and Richter. At night be shown around by the night watchman and learn about the town’s rich history.

Your cycling will kick off along the Tauber River before crossing a few hills towards Main on the tracks of the Gaubahn railway. From here you will be cycling downhill into the Main Valley. Your stop for the night is Ochsenfurt, here you can find fortifications which are almost completely in their original condition.

The route on the third day of cycling will show you the most beautiful parts of the Main Valley, which are a delight to see from your bike. Take a stop in Würzburg, this town is towered over by a beautiful castle. Continue on through vineyards until you get to Gemünden, you can also visit Rieneck which is famous for some fantastic wines.

Peddle along the shores of the Main onto Wertheim, this is where the Main and Tauber Rivers join. In Wertheim take a trip up to the ruin of an old stone castle with an amazing view of the surrounding areas, recognisable as you will have just cycled through them!

Today you say goodbye to the Main and hello to the Tauber, heading upstream through vineyards until getting to Tauberbischofsheim, a quaint town filled with timber-framed houses. Heading along the Bad Mergentheim you will get to Weikersheim, your stop for the night which is home to a stately renaissance castle.

Today you’ll be heading back to your start and end point, but not before taking a stop in Creglingen where you can visit the Lindleinturm, here is a unique way to see and experience village life from the 18th century. If you are interested in sewing, why not visit the thimble museum with its sewing accessories from around the world ranging from historic to modern?

Enjoy a last breakfast and then either head home or stay for longer.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate

Start point: Rothenberg

End point: Rothenberg

Total distance: approx. 285km

The route is mostly on cycle paths on quiet rural lanes, some sections of the route are on quiet back roads.

What’s included

  • 6 nights with breakfast, national 3*-level
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Cycle route description with maps (1 x per room)
  • Entrance Bad Mergentheim Residence Palace (closed Mon & Tue)
  • Entrance to Weikersheim Castle
  • Guided tour Rothenburg with the night watchman
  • Luggage transport from hotel to hotel, max. 20 kg / piece
  • Service-Hotline (7 days, 08.00 a.m. – 08.00 p.m.)

Not included

Other meals
• Insurance
• Tourist tax

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Sat 20 Apr - Fri 26 Apr

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Wed 01 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Thu 02 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Fri 03 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sat 04 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Sun 05 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Mon 06 May

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 01 May - Tue 07 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 02 May - Wed 08 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 03 May - Thu 09 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 04 May - Fri 10 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sat 11 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 06 May - Sun 12 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 07 May - Mon 13 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 08 May - Tue 14 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 09 May - Wed 15 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 10 May - Thu 16 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 11 May - Fri 17 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 15 May - Tue 21 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 16 May - Wed 22 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 17 May - Thu 23 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 18 May - Fri 24 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sat 25 May

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 20 May - Sun 26 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 21 May - Mon 27 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 22 May - Tue 28 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 23 May - Wed 29 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 24 May - Thu 30 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 25 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Tue 28 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Wed 29 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Thu 30 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Fri 31 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £919 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £829 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Daily

FROM £699 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve