Loire Valley to the Atlantic Coast

A summer trip combining history and nature

The Loire is famous for being one of Europe’s only remaining unregulated rivers. Flowing towards the Atlantic, the surrounding land can be characterised by nature and gentle rolling hills. A cycling tour here will enchant culture lovers, the course takes you to Orléans and finishes in Saint Nazaire passing sights to peak into France’s past and one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites. This really is a culture-loving cyclist’s dream.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £939.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Get acquainted and say hello to this lovely city.

Time to set off on your adventure! Following the River Cher, a tributary of the Loire, you will reach Villandry Palace which is not worth a miss. Full of culture and history, there are also terraced gardens to be seen. Be enchanted by the shady footpaths, flower-covered bowers, fountains, and the amazingly organised vegetable gardens. As you head a few more kilometres you will swap the bank of the Cher for the bank of the Loire, where the beautiful castle Langeais awaits you. You’ll have the chance to go to the top of the tower (now used for military purposes) where you can enjoy views of the river and all the surrounding areas. Before reaching Chinon you will pass quaint villages and side roads. Chinon has an impressive castle complex to impress you.

Time to part ways with the medieval city of Chinon and follow the river Vienne to Candes-St.Martin. Here you can go by foot to the highest point of the village, where you can see the confluence of both rivers Vienne and Loire. There’s then one more treasure to be seen before arriving Saumur, which is the mystic rock houses of Souzey. When you arrive in Saumur there is but another panoramic view to visit from the Samur Palace.

Travel a few kilometres to the southern shores of the Loire and find yourself in the vineyards which you’ll pass through on gentle hills. Afterwards you’ll be back on the coast heading through quiet, medieval villages to your home for the night of Angers. This university cite is located at the Maine and has a friendly and buzzing atmosphere.

Angers is on the River Maine, which is the last major tributary of the Loire River before the Atlantic. You will go along the Maine until it joins with the Loire at La Pointe-Bouchemaine. Follow the foot of the slate-granite massif until you reach Savennières which is home to the oldest church in the region. Some of the most popular wines from the Loire-Valley are grown here. Try some fruity or dry white wines at one of the vintners. From La Poissonnière head via dykes with amazing views of the river until you reach the dainty town of Saint-Florent-le-Vieil.

Today offers another day along the Loire River with ever-changing scenery. It’s time to have your first glimpse of Brittany where the buildings transform into a vision of slate and granite rocks up until you reach Nantes. You’ll switch sides of the river a few times and will come across a few short gradients but it’s worth it for the stunning views you will see. Accompany the Loire all the way to the centre of Nantes, the historic capital of Brittany. The Atlantic lives some 70km away from this city but you can feel its influence already here.

Here the river widens and the scenery more serene. Head towards the finish line of the Atlantic Ocean by heading downstream through quaint villages. To arrive in your final destination of Saint Nazaire there is a  bridge to cross over the Loire River. Spend your last day visiting the Atlantic Shipyard, one of the biggest ship building corporations in the world or the submarine bunker which can only be accessed by bike.

 *** If you would like a price on the 10 Day trip please contact our team ***

Route large icon

Route overview

Route Overview

Difficulty: Medium

Start point: Tours

End point: Tours

Total distance: approx. 335 and 385km

This loop is mostly on cycle routes and some secondary roads with low traffic levels, all of which are well signposted. In the vineyard areas there are some more hills which you must climb.

What’s included

  • Accommodation in your selected category
  • Standard Bike hire
  • Breakfast
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline
  • Optional extras

    • Bike rental plus and E-Bikes, including rental bike insurance

Not included

  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Sat 20 Apr - Sat 27 Apr

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 21 Apr - Sun 28 Apr

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 22 Apr - Mon 29 Apr

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 23 Apr - Tue 30 Apr

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 24 Apr - Wed 01 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 25 Apr - Thu 02 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 26 Apr - Fri 03 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 27 Apr - Sat 04 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sun 05 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Mon 06 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Tue 07 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 01 May - Wed 08 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 02 May - Thu 09 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 03 May - Fri 10 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 04 May - Sat 11 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sun 12 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 06 May - Mon 13 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 07 May - Tue 14 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 08 May - Wed 15 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 09 May - Thu 16 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 10 May - Fri 17 May

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 11 May - Sat 18 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 12 May - Sun 19 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 13 May - Mon 20 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 14 May - Tue 21 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 15 May - Wed 22 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 16 May - Thu 23 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 17 May - Fri 24 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 18 May - Sat 25 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sun 26 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 20 May - Mon 27 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 21 May - Tue 28 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 22 May - Wed 29 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 23 May - Thu 30 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1049 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £989 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £939 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve