Innsbruck to Bolzano

Cycle on bike paths in the river valleys of the Inn and Adige rivers on this self-guided holiday from Innsbruck to Bolzano. This is a superb tour that combines scenic routes with rewarding cycling, and as buses are used for the climbs, the tour is suitable for most levels.

Enjoy a meandering route through orchards, vineyards and pretty towns, and past fortresses, castles and ruins before ending your tour in the town of Bolzano with its fascinating arcades and museum.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1149.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Today there will be a welcome briefing. Rental bikes will also be distributed and bike fitting will be available. We recommend, for this afternoon, making a visit to the famous Innsbruck old town, with its City Tower and its “Golden Roof”.

Today’s route will take you on the former towpath of the river Inn, at the foot of Martinswand (mountain face), before leading you through little villages and market towns, to Stams (baroque Cistercian convent). Later, you will continue your tour via Haiming to Imst, the so-called “Merano of North Tyrol”.

On your second cycling day, you will continue to ride along the River Inn, past the monastery Zams, to Landeck. Once there you will then be a bus transfer to Nauders. From here, you will climb less than 100 metres in altitude, as you cycle uphill to the mountain pass Reschenpass. It is then a downhill ride to Lake Reschensee, where you will continue on minor roads to the town of Mals (which features many towers in its centre), or to Burgeis at the foot of the castle Marienburg.

Today will begin with a trip to Glurns (famous for its perfectly preserved medieval city walls). You will then cycle, via the Montani castle ruins, through Schlanders, down to Merano. As you ride, you will come across some pretty castles (mountaineer Reinhold Messner’s castle Juval) and you can enjoy spectacular views of the impressive mountain massif Ortlermassiv, and the mountain pass Stilfserjoch. The Venosta train (Vinschgaubahn) has been operating between Mals and Merano since 2004. It is almost always possible to take this train a part of your journey.

On this ride, you will get to experience travelling through the Passeiertal valley to the Sandwirt inn (birthplace of the Tyrolean freedom fighter Andreas Hofer). If, however, you want a break from the bike, you can otherwise hike on the famous Tappeiner trail or go shopping at the famous arcades of Merano.

Today’s stage will take you via Lana (Schnatterpeck Altar), through numerous orchards and vineyards in the area of the South Tyrolean Wine Road. As you discover this area, you will pass many fortresses, castles, and ruins such as Hocheppan (famous frescos), on your way to Lake Kalterer See.

Today marks the end of your cycling adventure. On your final ride, you will leave charming wine towns behind you, as you embark on a flat route, either through the Adige valley or via the Montiggler lakes (scenic, but more demanding route), past Sigmundskron to Bolzano (arcades, “Ötzi” museum).

Wouldn’t it be wonderful end this holiday and discover more of Italy? If you want, you can combine this tour with another one to either Venice or Verona.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate

You cycle to and from the bakery, but only when the sun is shining. Cycling has to be fun, and is not just a method of fitness in your eyes. Nevertheless, gentle hills or longer sections on gravel tracks don’t pose any problems for you. You pedal along enjoying the lovely views in the countryside as you go.

You will cycle on bike paths in the river valleys of the Inn and Adige rivers. A bus will take you from Landeck to Nauders. From there you will cycle uphill, gaining 70 metres in altitude, before you reach Reschenpass (mountain pass). Afterwards, you can enjoy cycling downhill for more than 1,200 metres in altitude to Bolzano. In order to stay on calm roads, cycling some small climbs will be necessary.

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

  • Overnight stays in the listed category
  • Breakfast buffet
  • Personal tour information
  • Luggage transfer between hotels
  • Excellently planned routes
  • Detailed travel information (route maps or overview maps, route description, tourist attractions, important telephone numbers)
  • Route signposting
  • Bus transfer from Innsbruck to Brenner including bike
  • Brixen card (free use of South Tyrolean public transportation, a roundtrip ride with the cable car Plose, free admission to Acquarena water park, free admission to nearly all South Tyrolean museums)
  • Service hotline

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Rental
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1239 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays and Wednesdays

FROM £1149 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve