Innsbruck – Salzburg – Vienna

This 13-day trip will allow you to see three of Austria’s most famous river cycle paths. The first of which will be the Inn cycle path, accompanied by the huge Nordkette mountains. The Zillertal valley invites you for a quick stop, followed by the largest waterfalls in Europe which await you in Salzburg’s Pinzgau region. You will head to Salzburg on the famous Tauern cycle path, and then on to Passau, which is where you will meet the river Inn again and the famous Danube, which you will follow across Austria. This tour truly encompasses breath-taking scenery, amazing food, traditions, and high culture.

Calender 13 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £1489.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Innsbruck you will have a welcome brief and have your bikes fitted. After this, why not take a walk around the old town and see the city tower and “Golden Roof”.

Today’s route will be characterised by the high Nordkette mountains which tower above the town of Hall. This is a town of saltworks and has a historic Münzerturm, from here you well head to Wattens where you can visit the Swarovski World of Crystals. Carrying on along the Inn cycle path you will pass Schwaz (a silver tourist mine) and onto your stay for the night of Strass, which sits at the entrance of the Zillertal Valley.

Cycle along as if you’re in a fairy-tale with the background of the Zillertaler Hauptkamm in your view. This group of mountains contains some reaching up to 3000 metres, meaning your ride will have some dramatic and impressive scenery. You have the option to go to Zell, or perhaps a bit further to Mayrhofen. After lunch a transfer will take you to Krimml via the Gerlospass. During this journey enjoy views of Europe’s biggest waterfalls, which you can visit on foot once you arrive!

Head along a route that takes you through the Hohe Tauern national park and Oberpinzgau region, whilst accompanied the entire route with snow-topped mountains. Lower on the ground are luscious green meadows and sleepy villages. Your destination for the day will be Kaprun, here you can visit reservoirs high in the mountains.

One of today’s highlights is swimming in Lake Zeller, don’t miss this! More confident cyclists can also do an additional loop of the lake. You will also go through Maria Alm, home to a famous pilgrimage church, before you get to your lunch spot of Seisenberg-ravine and Lamprechtshöhe peak near Weißbach.

The route for today will be mainly in the peaceful Saalachtal valley. Pass through enchanting Bad Reichenhall, which finds itself in the little “deutsches Eck” and has true Bavarian flavour. Just a stone’s through away from here is the birthplace of world-famous composer Mozart. Not only does this city have incredible culture and history to learn, but it’s also a view of beautiful architecture wonderfully laid out. Pay a visit to Mozart’s birthplace and walk through the historical centre.

Get festive in your first stop of Oberndorf, the home of the silent night chapel. From here head through alluvial forests to the charming village of Tittmoning. Onwards you will head along the “Nature Adventure Trail Unterer Inn” until you get to Burghausen. Burghausen offers Europe’s largest castle complex as well as a fascinating town centre.

The route to Obernberg will introduce you to the Gothic town of Braunau and many bird colonies. Another stop on the route worth making is a trip to Reichersberg Abbey. In fact, along this route you will come across many dotted charming villages and the one that you will stop in is Schärding, here is home to a colourful row of houses named “Silberzeile”.

Head by the River Inn until you get to Passau, AKA the city of three rivers. Here we recommend a city tour as well as a trip to the cathedral, which boats the largest church organ in the world. The next river to go along will be the Danube which will take you through Oberzell and Engelhartszell, which has the only Trappist monastery in Austria. Next head through the Donauleiten nature reserve until you get to Schlögener Schlinge river loop. From here take a short ferry ride across the Danube to your hotel for the night.

The Danube River loop is a true area of natural beauty and will be one of the most memorable parts of your tour. After the river Danube you will come across numerous market towns such as Aschach, Ottensheim, and Wilhering until you get to the provincial capital of Linz.  Here in the old town are many exciting venues for you to visit, for example “in Linz it all beginz”. From here head to your stop for the night of Enns, home to Austria’s oldest town home to a town square, tower and museum called “Lauriacum”.

Another day of cycling along the glorious Danube awaits you, firstly leading you to the Baroque town of Grein. Here we recommend a visit to the theatre, maritime museum and Greinburg castle. Next head through the mysterious Strudengau area and onto Weinviertel area to Marbach or Maria Taferl, home to the pilgrimage church perched towering over the river.

The first place worth visiting on this day is the Melk Abbey, its imposing architecture is unmissable and will blow you away! From here the route gives quaint wine towns such as Weißenkirchen, Dürnstein and Krems. A train will take you into Austria’s enchanting capital of Vienna, home to many gorgeous and cultural sites.

Either the trip ends here, or you can add on more days.

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Leisurely

Start point: Innsbruck

End point: Vienna

Total distance: approx. 610 – 630 km

Much of the route will be on well-kept cycle paths along the Inn, Ziller, Salzach, Saalach, and Danube rivers. There are some slight hills with low climbs, as well as some nature tracks. There will be some small side roads.

What’s included

  • Accommodation as already mentioned
  • Standard Bike Hire
  • Breakfast
  • Welcome briefing (German, English)
  • Luggage transfer
  • EUROBIKE developed route
  • Detailed travel information 1 x per room (German, English)
  • 1 bus transfer Zell am Ziller – Krimml incl. your bike
  • 1 train ride Krems – Wien incl. your bike
  • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
  • Service hotline
  • Train ticket from Gmunden to Linz, including bike
  • Train ticket from Linz to Aigen, including bike
  • If bike rental: Rental bike insurance included

Not included

  • E Bike rental
  • Tourist tax, if due
  • Ferry ride Schlögener Schlinge approx. EUR 5/person incl. your bike
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week that the cycling holiday is operating on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the right day of departure from the list of options.

We are still updating the website with the latest dates and prices, however, all cycling holidays are available. To find out the most up-to-date details, please send us a contact form.

Sat 27 Apr - Fri 10 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sun 28 Apr - Sat 11 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Mon 29 Apr - Sun 12 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Tue 30 Apr - Mon 13 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Wed 01 May - Tue 14 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Thu 02 May - Wed 15 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Fri 03 May - Thu 16 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sat 04 May - Fri 17 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sun 05 May - Sat 18 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Mon 06 May - Sun 19 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Tue 07 May - Mon 20 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Wed 08 May - Tue 21 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Thu 09 May - Wed 22 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Fri 10 May - Thu 23 May

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sat 11 May - Fri 24 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sun 12 May - Sat 25 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Mon 13 May - Sun 26 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Tue 14 May - Mon 27 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Wed 15 May - Tue 28 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Thu 16 May - Wed 29 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Fri 17 May - Thu 30 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sat 18 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sun 19 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Mon 20 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Tue 21 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Wed 22 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Thu 23 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Fri 24 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sat 25 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 27 May - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 28 May - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 29 May - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 30 May - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 31 May - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Mon 08 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Tue 09 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Wed 10 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Thu 11 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Fri 12 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sat 13 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Thu 08 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Fri 09 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sat 10 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Sun 11 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Mon 12 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Tue 13 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1659 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1569 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1489 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires
Question Curve