Florence to Rome

Start and end in two of Italy’s most famous cities on this self-guided holiday from Florence to Rome. Cycling is one of the best ways to explore this region, and enables you to experience the solitude of the Umbrian countryside and its pretty, unspoilt villages.

You will make your way from Tuscany to the capital via the cities of Assisi and Perugia and enjoy fine food and wine along the way before ending your tour in the enchanting city of Rome with its many attractions.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Challenging

From £1179.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Tour briefing and distribution of the rental bikes. We recommend that you visit Florence’s beautiful centre.

In the morning, you will take the train to Arezzo. There, you can visit the beautiful churches and palaces of the city of antiquities and gold. With your bike you will cycle on beautiful trails through the vast plains of the Val di Chiana, constantly accompanied by hill and mountain silhouettes of the southern Tuscany. You will pass Cortona and you will finally get to Lake Trasimeno, the battlefield of Hannibal against the Romans. Moreover, you will have a gorgeous view of Lake Trasimeno. Tonight, you will spend the night in Passignano.

You will cycle along the lake to Torricella. From there you will continue through open fields, rolling hills and idyllic places to Perugia. Stroll through one of the nicest shopping streets of Italy to the Cathedral of San Lorenzo, the Palazzo dei Priori, or the Arco Etrusco… the Umbrian capital will fascinate you!

After having crossed the river Tiber, it is only a few kilometres by bike to the birthplace of St. Francis of Assisi. However, before you cycle up to the mystical city, you will take a trip to one of the most beautiful sanctuaries of Umbria: S. M. degli Angeli! In Assisi, you can immerse yourself in the colourful world of medieval frescoes by Giotto.

Your way leads you along the foot of the mighty Mount Subasio to the still entirely preserved medieval town Spello. Afterwards, you will continue through the Valle Umbra to Spoleto. Cities, such as Montefalco, Trevi, and Campello can be seen on the surrounding hills. From the more than 80 m high aqueduct you can enjoy a vertiginous view of the Tessino Canyon, Mount Luco, and the Rocca Albornoz (papal fortress).

Between mountains, accompanied by the beautiful countryside, you will cycle to Terni and further to Narni.  Do you want to treat yourself? Terni is known for its excellent pastries and for having the most creative cuisine of the region! Narni and its medieval streets will take you back to ancient times.

In the middle of the green heart of Umbria, you will pass huge mountains until you reach Calvi, the last major town in this region. You can still enjoy the quiet and solitude of the Sabine mountains before you take the train to immerse yourself in the vibrant city of Rome.

Route large icon

Route overview

At least one cycling holiday a year is pretty much compulsory for you! You are a perfect example of one of our typical guests, who regularly goes out for bike rides at the weekends. Now and again, you like to battle with a long, steep hill or a days cycle ride with an undulating profile. But, in order to have time to enjoy the rest of the ride, the route should then become flatter and more leisurely again afterwards.

You will cycle on a slightly hilly route during the whole tour; in between there are longer flat sections. You will find yourself almost exclusively on field and farm tracks and quiet side streets. Only very short sections are on more trafficked roads, especially when entering or leaving cities.

Total distance cycled: 285 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

The Florence to Rome cycling holiday includes the daily transfer of luggage to the next hotel and local support if required.

Included Services (Subject to confirmation)

  • Overnight stays in the selected category
  • Breakfast buffet or ample breakfast
  • Personal tour information
  • Luggage transfer between hotels
  • Excellently planned routes
  • Detailed travel information (route maps or overview maps, route description, tourist attractions, important telephone numbers)
  • Signposting
  • Bus transfer – Greve to Florence inc. bike
  • GPS tracking available
  • Service hotline for the duration of the tour

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1299 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1229 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Saturdays

FROM £1179 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve