Central Alsace

This wonderful tour encompasses gorgeous German landscapes and villages close to the Rhine, as well as through Alsace along the wine route. Head into the thick of Strasbourg, Freiburg, and Colmar, three unique and wonderful cities ready to amaze you with their buildings and history. Dipping in and out of French and German vineyards, you will have the chance to visit a cellar or have a wine tasting session.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £1099.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

After making your own way to Strasbourg, get checked into the hotel and then have the day free to explore. See the impressive gothic cathedral and town centre which has UNESCO World Heritage Site status.

Time to kick off your cycling, leaving Strasbourg you will pass the gorgeous Jardin des Deux Rives until you get to Kehl, where you will start your German adventure on the other side of the Rhine. This is all plain cycling as it is majorly flat, discover the Rhine Forest and lovely villages dotted on the river.

Today is another day of smooth cycling as you go through gorgeous villages to Riegel and Emmendigen. After cycling a small distance further and through the Landwasser forest, you reach Freiburg, which is the capital of Breisgau. At dusk watch the sun set over the buildings from the heights of the Schlossberg.

Today you will pedal along the “Breisgau-Radweg” bike path on the way to Breisach, which sits on the French border. Here you can enjoy the cathedral, interesting city centre and historical alleyways. Heading back into France, you can visit the Neuf-Brisach and learn about the history of the 17th and 18th centuries, this has UNESCO World Heritage Site status. Once you reach your stay for the night of Colmar, you will be in the capital of Alsace wines! Take an evening stroll through the historical centre, still in excellent condition today. Enjoy the Unterlinden Museum, which is home to the Issenheim Altarpiece.

Take one last morning stroll through the old streets and then set off on your day of cycling, which will provide multiple vineyards. Get acquainted with the gorgeous villages of Eguisheim, Turckheim, Kaysersberg and Riquewihr. These are true jewels of the Wine Route and are all located within numerous vineyards.

Today’s itinerary offers yet more gorgeous villages! Head between the Vosges and vineyards, on a peaceful cycle path which doesn’t coincide with cars but has a backdrop of beautiful 360 views. Go via Hunawihr, Ribeauvillé and Bergheim before you arrive in your final destination of Andlau, Barr or Obernai.

Your first stop for the day will be Rosheim, enjoy the view of the Saints-Pierre-et-Paul church, a vision of Roman architecture. You will next stop in Molsheim, where you will go onto the bike path of the Bruche canal which takes you directly to Strasbourg. Enjoy a last night here with local gastronomy and architecture.

Departure day or extension, call our team to find out more!

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate

This cycle route is mainly on cycle paths, country lanes and minor roads with low levels of traffic. On days 5 and 6 you will come across a few more hills.

Total distance cycled: approx 298 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

• Accommodation in 3* and 4* hotels
• Breakfast
• Personal tour information (French, German, English) except Sundays and public holidays
• Luggage transfer from hotel to hotel
• Well-prepared route guidance
• For bike rental, including rental bike insurance
• Detailed travel documents 1x per room (French, German, English with route or overview maps,
• route description, important telephone numbers)
• Own signposting
• GPS data available
• Service hotline

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £1099 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve