Castles on the River Loire

Central to Northwest France can be characterised by the beautiful Loire Valley, a region truly full of cultural, culinary and natural delights. Visit ample castles, palaces and residences, so elegant they were fit for royalty and are perfectly maintained today. Visit Villangry, Langeais, Ussé, and many more; each in their own right would make a great experience but all-in-one tour makes this more than worth doing. Enjoy a truly top-end experience.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £909.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Get acquainted and say hello to this lovely city.

Time to set off on your adventure! Following the River Cher, a tributary of the Loire, you will reach Villandry Palace which is not worth a miss. Full of culture and history, there are also terraced gardens to be seen. Be enchanted by the shady footpaths, flower-covered bowers, fountains, and the amazingly organised vegetable gardens. As you head a few more kilometres you will swap the bank of the Cher for the bank of the Loire, where the beautiful castle Langeais awaits you. You’ll have the chance to go to the top of the tower (now used for military purposes) where you can enjoy views of the river and all the surrounding areas. Before reaching Chinon you will pass quaint villages and side roads. Chinon has an impressive castle complex to impress you.

Today you will start and end in Chinon but take a day trip to Fontevraud l´Abbaye. This wonder piece of architecture is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a must-see in the area. The first stop on the way will be the quaint village of Candes-St-Matin, this romantic town sits on a river and is decorated with a gorgeous church. Next in Monstoreau you will see where the river Vienne and Loire meet. When you arrive to the Fontevraud l´Abbaye abbey, you will be amazing by its condition, given that it is from from medieval times. Go by the birthplace of Francois Rabelais, a famous author and pass through the valley where his book “Gargantua” is set.

It’s time to say goodbye to Chinon and head north. The route from here will head through vineyards and scattered villages, for example Crissay. This village was once completely left, but has now been repopulated with artists. From here you visit the beautiful building that is the Azay-le-Rideau castle, the town in which it lies will be where you will stop for the night. Enjoy cultural events that take place at the castle and in the town.

Today’s delights will be natural rather than man-made, following the beautiful river lands of the Indre, until you reach Montbazon. From here there will be a small hill to climb and then some rolling hills, until you get to the Cher Valley. Peddling along the Cher and next to meadows you will eventually get to Bléré, a small market town with the impressive castle Chenonceaux. Take a stroll around the town and marvel at the medieval white architecture.

Today there are two options to choose from: you can take a shorter route through Touraine to Castle Chaumont, and then on to Blois through the Loire valley. You can visit renaissance hotels, galleries, projected balconies and have a true taste of the culture. The other and longer version is ideal for those who love the Loire castles, you will see Montrichard, Cheverny, Villesavine, and Castle Chambord. All of this cycling will be whilst heading through luscious valleys, with the gorgeous Loire River accompanying you with its gorgeous shine.

Travel through the Loire valley, seeing the sanded shores and glimmering river. In this area you can see sleepy villages dotted around with their white limestone houses. Cross to the other side of the Loire to see the most prestigious castle of them all: Castle Ambois, which was fit for five kings and a Roman emperor. The famous Leonardo da Vinci also spent his last years in Ambois, see the inspiration for his later years. You can continue on the Loire Cycle path until you get to Tours, alternatively you can take the train and shorten the journey by 30km.

Alternatively we can book a 10 day / 9 night trip – speak to one of our team for more information

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate

Start point: Tours

End point: Tours

Total distance: approx. 335 and 385km

This loop is mostly on cycle routes and some secondary roads with low traffic levels, all of which are well signposted. In the vineyard areas there are some more hills which you must climb.

What’s included

      • Breakfast
      • Luggage transfer
      • Well developed route
      • Detailed travel documents 1x per room (German, English)
      • App for Navigation and GPS-data available
      • Service hotline

Not included

  • Tourist tax, if due, is not included in the price!
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1019 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £959 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £909 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve