Camino de Santiago

The Camino de Santiago is an ancient pilgrimage of great historical, cultural and spiritual significance which continues to be shared by pilgrims from all walks of life. It is the only long-distance route to have been awarded World Heritage recognition.
The Camino is more than a journey across the Spanish landscape. It is a personal journey which unites people from many parts of the globe, all of whom decide to undertake this pilgrimage.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £739.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Make your way to Astorga, where you will have the chance to explore this fascinating city which is known for its walled city centre, and the episcopal church designed by Gaudi. It is also well worth taking the time to visit the beautiful Cathedral.

Distance: 30 miles (49 km). Climb: 2320 ft (707 m).

Today, on your bicycle, you will head  into the Maragatería area . This wooded and mountainous region is known for its beautiful villages, with red stone houses, dotted around the landscape. On this, your first ride, you will climb to the highest point of the tour. Here you will pass the stone cross at 1.510m, which is a traditional pilgrimage site. Each pilgrim leaves a stone which they have carried with them, all the way from their homeland. If you want to, you too could bring your own small pebble with you! Later you will descend into the rich valley of the Bierzo.

Distance: 30-37 miles (49-59 km). Climb: 2201-4498 ft (671-1371 m)

On day three, you will travel through the landscapes and beautiful villages of the Alsatian Ried which is rich in aquatic flora and fauna. You will finish today’s cycle ride in Colmar, the capital of the wine of Alsace and the town of art, by the cycle track of the channel of Colmar.

Distance: 34-28 miles (54-45 km). Climb: 3143-846 ft (958-258 m)

Today will take you into a new region, where you will find a very different climate, vegetation, and people. Galicia is a greener part of Spain. It is wooded and mountainous. On your route you will descend into the small town of Samos, where you will find an ancient monastery, dating back to the middle Ages. It is still remains inhabited by monks in the present day. Don’t miss the opportunity to visit it! The remainder of the route meanders along streams and rivers, flowing from the mountains, down to the town of Sarria.

Distance: 30 miles (48 km). Climb: 3665 ft (1117 m).

On today’s adventure, you can enjoy one of the most beautiful sections of the Camino in Galicia.You will find yourself travelling on narrow, but quiet roads, through woodland and green pastures. You will discover a small slice of heaven and area of peace and tranquility, as you pass tiny villages where the locals live off the land, as they have done for generations.

Distance: 37 miles (60 km). Climb: 3862 ft (1177 m).

Today you’ll be tempted to stop at every one of the charming villages you encounter. Each one is a hidden gem, with stone-built houses and narrow streets that will transport you back in time! You can breathe in history as you pedal along, and can only imagine how many thousands of people have shaped this legendary route.

Distance: 17 miles (27 km). Climb: 1965 ft (599 m).

Today, take time to enjoy the final kilometres of your adventure. The Camino now leads you into the very heart of the city of pilgrims, the unique Santiago de Compostela, and into the Plaza de Obradoiro which overlooks the Cathedral, built in honour of Saint James. It is a city shrouded in centuries of legends, you will arrive elated, surrounded by the echos of the pilgrims who have come here before you.  With a buzz of satisfaction, at having completed your week’s rides, and a smile on your face, you should arrive with enough time to get your “Compostelana” or Pilgrim’s Passport. The city is filled with many important landmarks which you can enjoy. History can be found round every corner and there is always an incredible atmosphere. You won’t want to say goodbye!

Departure day. Why not linger in Santiago a little longer, to enjoy a few days of rest and sightseeing. How about a touch of Luxury in the 5***** Parador?

Route large icon

Route overview

Difficulty: Moderate +

Longer distances and hilly terrain, with perhaps three or four ascents per day.

You will need to be in good health and reasonably fit. These trips may contain elements that are quite active, but not too hard.

Total distance cycled: 286 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

Included:
• 7 nights’ accommodation
• 7 breakfasts.
• Pilgrim’s Passport
• Luggage transfers (1 item per person, up to 20kg)
• Detailed maps with the trail clearly marked
• Itinerary description, full of recommendations for things to do and places to visit,
• Advice and suggestions and information about your accommodation, etc.
• Emergency support.
• Activity insurance.

Not included

Optional extras:
• Half Board (6 dinners, not in Santiago)
• Extra night(s) in Astorga
• Extra night(s) in Santiago
• Upgraded Hotel in Santiago

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 20 Oct - Sun 27 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 21 Oct - Mon 28 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 22 Oct - Tue 29 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 23 Oct - Wed 30 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 24 Oct - Thu 31 Oct

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Fri 25 Oct - Fri 01 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sat 26 Oct - Sat 02 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Sun 27 Oct - Sun 03 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Mon 28 Oct - Mon 04 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Tue 29 Oct - Tue 05 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Wed 30 Oct - Wed 06 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

Thu 31 Oct - Thu 07 Nov

Daily

FROM £739 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve