Bike & Barge: Northern Netherlands

Explore the Dutch peninsula north of Amsterdam on this relaxed bike and barge tour that is suitable for all the family. Discover the landscape of the flat Polderland, explore the sweeping dunes and North Sea beaches and pay a visit to the pretty harbourside villages of the Ijsselmeer.

With time to enjoy Amsterdam’s many attractions and easy riding through an enchanting landscape dotted with windmills, churches and farmland, this is a cyclist’s paradise!

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Moderate

From £699.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Check-in on board this afternoon. Today you can take your first short talk through the picturesque harbour and you walk through the old town.

On the second day of your trip, you will have the chance to discover the charming harbour town on the banks of IJsselmeer and its beautiful surroundings. You will live and breathe the rich and interesting history of the city as you walk through the old town with its numerous villas, canals, churches, city walls and ports. Tip: You should visit the Zuiderzee museum.

If you are interested in making a day trip to Amsterdam, then the Enkhuizen train station is within walking distance of the berth. Train connections to Amsterdam and back are every 30 minutes. Journey time approx. 1 h (ticket not incl.)

Today you are shipping over the IJsselmeer to Lemmer. You are starting your roundtrip by bike: over the Oosterzee Buren to the Tjeukemeer, further to Munnekeburen, then around the Rottige Meente over Scherpen-zel and Schoterzijl back to Lemmer with its historical old part of town and beautiful gable houses.

Tip: Optional visit of the largest still-functioning steam pumping station in the world, “Woudagemaal”.

You are going by bike to Sondeler Leien Lake, from there through the woods of Rijsterbos passing the Mokkebank (a birds’ reservation) to the Roode Klif at Stavoren. From there you are shipping to Oudeschild on the Island of Texel.

You are going on a round trip by bike on the biggest North Sea Island of the Netherlands – Texel. There are numerous alternative routes (29/32/47/70 km). Tip: We also rec-ommend you to visit the beer brewery of Texel (optional). About 6:00 pm shipping back to Den Helder.

In the morning you are cycling through the dunes to Alkmaar. It is possible for you to go on board MS SERENA in St. Maar-tensvlotburg and ship the rest of the way to Alkmaar. As an alternative, you can also start your cycling tour in St. Maartensvlot-burg.

Start off from Wormerveer and head to the open-air museum Zaanse Schans (windmills, ancient Dutch village, cheese factory, etc). From here you will continue in the direction of Volendam. On your way there you will have the chance to visit a cheese dairy in Katwoude. During your visit you will be able to see how Gouda cheese and the traditional Dutch wooden shoes are made. Via Volendam, known as a traditional fishing village with typical authentic cottages, you will cycle to Hoorn. We would recommend you taking some time to visit the historic old town with its many buildings from the 17th century (e.g. the harbour tower as well as the storage houses at the old quai)

Early in the morning shipping to Enkhuizen, After breakfast you are checking out and we are saying goodbye – have a safe journey

Route large icon

Route overview

Route Overview
You cycle daily about 30 to 60 km. Nearly all routes are easy to cycle. You cycle on asphalted and signposted bike paths. This beautiful journey leads along wonderful landscape and scenic villages. During the cruise of the MS Serena from one spot to the next, you are offered interesting bike tours. Those tours will be adjusted individually with the tour guide, depending on the group and their potential.

The mentioned kilometres are ca-distances. There is a daily briefing in the evening for the next day. If wished, you can cycle tours also individually, maps will be provided for that. The tours can be managed from everyone in normal shape. If you do not want to cycle you can also stay on board or make a shorter bike tour.

Total distance cycled: 264 km

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes maybe subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

About the MS Serena

A comfortable river boat with restaurant and bar (air-conditioned). There is a partly roofed sun-deck with seats and store place for the bicycles.

On the whole MS SERENA comprises 35 cab-ins on the Main Deck and 18 cabins on the Promenade Deck with two-bed-cabins (approx. 8-9 sqm) with two single beds. The two Junior-Suites (approx. 12 sqm) on the Main Deck have a grandlit (lying surface 1,40 × 2,00 m). There are in total 3 single cabins (2 on the Main Deck and 1 on the Promenade Deck, 6 sqm).

All cabins have windows that can be opened on both decks, shower/WC and ventilation.

Technical data: Length 90 m. Width 9.90 m. Max. 102 passengers. 3 decks. Dutch flag and guidance.

What’s included

  • Seven nights in outside cabins, shower/WC in the booked cabin category
  • The programme according to routing from/to Amsterdam
  • Welcome cocktail
  • Room cleaning every day
  • Changing of towels and bed sheets if wanted
  • Full board consisting of breakfast buffet, lunch or lunch package for cycle tours, coffee or tea in the afternoon, dinner
  • All charges for harbours, bridges and locks
  • Daily meetings for the cycling tours
  • Printed instructions and detailed maps for daily individual bike tours (1 per cabin)
  • Tour guide
  • Languages on board: German, English

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays

FROM £1009 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £879 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £789 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £699 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve