Bike & Barge: Koblenz to Saarburg

What could provide a more pleasant break than a trip to the Moselle and the Saar, two rivers which wind through enchanting countryside, where castles on the hills guard the route and you can visit market squares surrounded by timbered houses? Is it any wonder that Moselle wine has built up such a good name?

The journey through the Moselle valley between Koblenz and Trier traverses some of Germany’s most beautiful countryside. You will meet winegrowers and bottlers on the way, but also cyclists from all around the world.

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £1009.00 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Embarkation between 4 and 5 p.m. You will spend the evening and first night in Koblenz.

By ship to Alken, where your bike tour starts. You are cycling to Moselkern and then on to Cochem. Cochem is a lovely little town with historical half-timbered-houses and a picturesque Old town.

The bike tour will take you to Beilstein first, which you can explore during a short tour on your own. Pass Europe’s steepest vineyard at Bremmer Calmont. Today´s tour ends in the wine village of Zell on the Moselle. You should take the time to enjoy the popular wines.

You are cycling from Zell to romantic Traben-Trarbach, where Jugendstil architecture shows its best side. After that the middle aged market place of Bernkastel-Kues invites you for a rest. You will reach the ship in Kues after a tour through town.

Cycle tour to Piesport, the oldest winegrowing community along the Moselle. Visit the Roman cellars and the vineyards on your own. Further on you are going to Neumagen-Dhron which is the oldest wine city of Germany. After lunch break the tour continues to Mehring.

You will cycle via Pfalzel to Trier, where MS PATRIA is already waiting for you. Trier is one of the oldest cities of Germany and its Roman roots are still visible in impressive buildings as the Porta Nigra, the Konstantin basilica and the Amphitheatre.

Today you will be cycling along the river from Trier via Wasserbillig in Luxembourg to Saarburg, also called “little Venice”. In its centre you will find a waterfall of 20 meters deep as well as many baroque buildings and fisher houses.

Disembarkation after breakfast until 9:00 a.m. Individual journey home.

Route large icon

Route overview

The quality of the cycle paths along this route is excellent. Most of the path along the Moselle is paved or asphalted and does not have any gradients of note. This makes the trip suitable even for relatively unpractised cyclists.

 

Route Map (For guidance only):

Routes may be subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or at the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX Files are available for most our the cycling holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

 

Tour Details (Subject to change)

Comfortable and cosy river ship with a family environment.  The ship was refurbished in 2015/2016. The panoramic salon with a bar in gentlemen’s club-style and the bright and friendly restaurant are waiting for you to pass relaxing hours here. A spacious, partly shaded sun deck and storage space for bicycles.  A total of 48 comfortable outside cabins for a max. of 94 guests. Main deck: 20 two bed-cabins (about 11 qm). Upper deck: 24 two-bed-cabins (about 11 qm), 4 cabins of bigger size at the stern of the ship (12 qm, 3 of which feature twin beds; during the trip increased noise perception) as well as two single cabins about 9 qm). All cabins boast en-suite bathrooms, hair dryer, telephone, TV, individual air conditioning/heating, fridge, safe and large panoramic windows. On the Upper deck, cabins feature opening windows.

Beds: 94 Cabin size: 9-12 m² Crew: 26 Length: 88,50 m Width: 10,50 m Draught: 1,30 m

For a more immersive cruise experience, you can check out luxury river cruises from our partner Crui.se

What’s included

  • 7 nights in an outside cabin on MS Olympia with private facilities and air conditioning
  • The programme according to the itinerary
  • Port fees included
  • Captains greeting and welcome drinks
  • Daily cabin cleaning, Changing of towels and bedcloths if wanted
  • Full board: 7x breakfast, 6x light lunch on board (non-cyclists) or packed lunch for cyclists, 6x afternoon coffee break, 7x dinner
  • Daily information meeting
  • Information pack with route book (one per cabin)
  • Tour guide on board (does not cycle with group

Not included

  • Flights to/from the start and finish
  • Evening meals (unless stated)
  • Local daily taxes (Payable at the hotel)
  • Helmets
  • Water Bottles
  • Travel Insurance
  • Bike Insurance (unless stated)
  • Welcome Meetings (unless stated)
  • Transfers (unless included)
Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person and exclude flights.

Tip: To book, please select a day of the week on which the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Fri 24 May - Fri 31 May

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 25 May - Sat 01 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 26 May - Sun 02 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 27 May - Mon 03 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 28 May - Tue 04 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 29 May - Wed 05 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 30 May - Thu 06 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 31 May - Fri 07 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 01 Jun - Sat 08 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 02 Jun - Sun 09 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 03 Jun - Mon 10 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 04 Jun - Tue 11 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 05 Jun - Wed 12 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 06 Jun - Thu 13 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 07 Jun - Fri 14 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 08 Jun - Sat 15 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 09 Jun - Sun 16 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 10 Jun - Mon 17 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 11 Jun - Tue 18 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 12 Jun - Wed 19 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 13 Jun - Thu 20 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 14 Jun - Fri 21 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 15 Jun - Sat 22 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 16 Jun - Sun 23 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 17 Jun - Mon 24 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 18 Jun - Tue 25 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 19 Jun - Wed 26 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 20 Jun - Thu 27 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 21 Jun - Fri 28 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 22 Jun - Sat 29 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 23 Jun - Sun 30 Jun

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1139 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

2-Bed Main Deck. Other cabins available on request. Saturdays.

FROM £1009 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

Give us a call for bookings and enquires

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve