Best of La Rioja

This is cycling with a real touch of luxury: 4 star hotels, Michelin star restaurants and some of the best wines Spain has to offer. Spend two nights in the capital of La Rioja, Logroño, famous for its many tapas bars and quaint historic city centre.

One day cycling along the ancient pilgrim route “El Camino de Santiago” in the company of walkers and cyclists from all over the world. Visit the spectacular Unesco World Heritage Site: the monasteries of Suso and Yuso, the birthplace of the Spanish language. Cycle in the heart of this celebrated wine growing area amongst vineyards, wineries and wine museums.

One night in the stunning mountain town of Ezcaray, full of charm and original architecture. Explore the medieval walled town of Laguardia, perched on a hill-top with commanding views. Take the opportunity to visit the ancient churches with their treasured baroque paintings. Peaceful cycling along very quiet country lanes and tracks, with a glass of wine awaiting you at every turn!

Calender 8 days

Difficulty: Leisurely

From £1039 P/P

Highlights large icon

Itinerary

Logroño, capital of la Rioja, is a small but vibrant city with a beautiful historic city centre and excellent restaurants and tapas bars. Soak in the atmosphere with a fabulous glass of Rioja.

Your morning starts with a short transfer to the starting point and handover of bikes. Here you will ride a section of the long distance pilgrim route El Camino de Santiago, which will take you to the beautiful town of San Millan de la Cogolla where you can visit two historical and cultural jewels: the Monasteries of Yuso and Suso, both Unesco World Heritage Sites.

23 miles (38 km) / Climb: 541 m

After another chance to visit the monasteries in the morning, today is an easy cycle through rolling countryside to the historic town of Ezcaray, set in the foothills of the impressive Sierra de la Demanda mountains. Tonight you’ll have the chance to dine in the exclusive **star Michelin restaurant, Echaurren in Ezcaray. 21 miles (36 km) / Climb: 421 m

Another easy cycle, this time along a dedicated cycle lane, away from any traffic. Coffee stops in Santo Domingo de la Calzada and Casalareina will reveal two rich historic and artistic towns well worth exploring, before arriving to the capital of wine production in the Rioja region: Haro. 21 miles (35 km) / Climb: 80 m

There will be chances to visit wineries in Haro in the morning and evening, but today you will ride along a delightful loop amongst vineyards to take in the essence of this rich region.

18 miles (31 km) / Climb: 471 m

Today you cycle along the river Ebro amongst vineyards, to reach the beautiful town of Briones where you can visit the Wine Museum of the Vivancos vineyard. From here, you’ll enjoy the quiet country roads taking you through colourful landscapes until you reach the beautifully preserved medieval town of Laguardia.

23 miles (37 km) / Climb: 661 m

Soon after leaving Laguardia, you come to the town of El Ciego, famous for its Marques de Riscal vineyard and its spectacular building designed by architect Frank Gehry. You rejoin the river Ebro on winding country roads which take you back to Logroño.

18 miles (31 km)/ Climb: 166 m

Why not treat yourself to an extra night or two to enjoy Logroño or to visit Bilbao and the Guggenheim Museum?

Route large icon

Route overview

There are some climbs on this Rioja cycling holiday on days when route moves away from Ebro Valley.

Total distance cycled: 202 km

Starting point of the cycling holiday: Logrono

 

Route Map (for guidance only)

Routes on our La Rioja tours by bike may be subject to change or alteration. All route notes, maps and day-by-day information will be given to you upon arrival at the first hotel or the welcome meeting. GPS/GPX files are available for most of the Rioja cycling holidays and Spain river holidays we offer. Please ask us for details.

What’s included

7 nights’ accommodation
7 breakfasts
Transfer to starting point on day 2
Luggage transfers between hotels
Detailed maps with your trail clearly marked
Itinerary description, full of recommendations for things to do and places to visit, advice and suggestions and information about your accommodation, etc
Emergency support
Activity insurance

Not included

lights to/from the start and finish

Evening meals (unless stated)

Local daily taxes (payable at the hotel)

Helmets

Water bottles

Travel insurance

Bike insurance (unless stated)

Welcome meetings (unless stated)

Transfers (unless stated)

Whats included

Check Availability

We have put together a fantastic selection of self-guided cycling holidays throughout Europe. All prices shown are per person sharing a double/twin room and exclude flights.

To book, please select a day of the week the cycling holiday operates on. If the tour starts daily, you can pick any date. If there is a specific start date e.g. Saturday or Sunday only, please choose the day of departure from the list of dates.

Get our latest NEWS and promotions straight to your inbox HERE

Mon 24 Jun - Mon 01 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 25 Jun - Tue 02 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 26 Jun - Wed 03 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 27 Jun - Thu 04 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 28 Jun - Fri 05 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 29 Jun - Sat 06 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 30 Jun - Sun 07 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 01 Jul - Mon 08 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 02 Jul - Tue 09 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 03 Jul - Wed 10 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 04 Jul - Thu 11 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 05 Jul - Fri 12 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 06 Jul - Sat 13 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 07 Jul - Sun 14 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 08 Jul - Mon 15 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 09 Jul - Tue 16 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 10 Jul - Wed 17 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 11 Jul - Thu 18 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 12 Jul - Fri 19 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 13 Jul - Sat 20 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 14 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 15 Jul - Mon 22 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 16 Jul - Tue 23 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 17 Jul - Wed 24 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 18 Jul - Thu 25 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 19 Jul - Fri 26 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 20 Jul - Sat 27 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 21 Jul - Sun 28 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 22 Jul - Mon 29 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 23 Jul - Tue 30 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 24 Jul - Wed 31 Jul

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 25 Jul - Thu 01 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 26 Jul - Fri 02 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 27 Jul - Sat 03 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 28 Jul - Sun 04 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 29 Jul - Mon 05 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 30 Jul - Tue 06 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 31 Jul - Wed 07 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 01 Aug - Thu 08 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 02 Aug - Fri 09 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 03 Aug - Sat 10 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 04 Aug - Sun 11 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 05 Aug - Mon 12 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 13 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 14 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 15 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 09 Aug - Fri 16 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 10 Aug - Sat 17 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 11 Aug - Sun 18 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 12 Aug - Mon 19 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 13 Aug - Tue 20 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 14 Aug - Wed 21 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 15 Aug - Thu 22 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 16 Aug - Fri 23 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 17 Aug - Sat 24 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 18 Aug - Sun 25 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 19 Aug - Mon 26 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 20 Aug - Tue 27 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 21 Aug - Wed 28 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 22 Aug - Thu 29 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 23 Aug - Fri 30 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 24 Aug - Sat 31 Aug

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 25 Aug - Sun 01 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 26 Aug - Mon 02 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 27 Aug - Tue 03 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 28 Aug - Wed 04 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 29 Aug - Thu 05 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 30 Aug - Fri 06 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 31 Aug - Sat 07 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 01 Sep - Sun 08 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 02 Sep - Mon 09 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 03 Sep - Tue 10 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 04 Sep - Wed 11 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 05 Sep - Thu 12 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 06 Sep - Fri 13 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 07 Sep - Sat 14 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 08 Sep - Sun 15 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 09 Sep - Mon 16 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 10 Sep - Tue 17 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 11 Sep - Wed 18 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 12 Sep - Thu 19 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 13 Sep - Fri 20 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 14 Sep - Sat 21 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 15 Sep - Sun 22 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 16 Sep - Mon 23 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 17 Sep - Tue 24 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 18 Sep - Wed 25 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 19 Sep - Thu 26 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 20 Sep - Fri 27 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 21 Sep - Sat 28 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 22 Sep - Sun 29 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 23 Sep - Mon 30 Sep

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 24 Sep - Tue 01 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 25 Sep - Wed 02 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 26 Sep - Thu 03 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 27 Sep - Fri 04 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 28 Sep - Sat 05 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 29 Sep - Sun 06 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 30 Sep - Mon 07 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 01 Oct - Tue 08 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 02 Oct - Wed 09 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 03 Oct - Thu 10 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 04 Oct - Fri 11 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 05 Oct - Sat 12 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 06 Oct - Sun 13 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 07 Oct - Mon 14 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 08 Oct - Tue 15 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 09 Oct - Wed 16 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 10 Oct - Thu 17 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 11 Oct - Fri 18 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 12 Oct - Sat 19 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 13 Oct - Sun 20 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 14 Oct - Mon 21 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 15 Oct - Tue 22 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 16 Oct - Wed 23 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 17 Oct - Thu 24 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 18 Oct - Fri 25 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 19 Oct - Sat 26 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 20 Oct - Sun 27 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 21 Oct - Mon 28 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 22 Oct - Tue 29 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 23 Oct - Wed 30 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 24 Oct - Thu 31 Oct

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Fri 25 Oct - Fri 01 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sat 26 Oct - Sat 02 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Sun 27 Oct - Sun 03 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Mon 28 Oct - Mon 04 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Tue 29 Oct - Tue 05 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Wed 30 Oct - Wed 06 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

Thu 31 Oct - Thu 07 Nov

Daily

FROM £1039 P/P

GOT ANY QUEStions?

call 01706 618155 for all bookings and enquiries

We have officially merged Wheel2Wheel Holidays into Freewheel Holidays. If you have been redirected from a search engine result, welcome to Freewheel Holidays!

You’ll still find similar cycling holidays to the product range as previously displayed on Wheel2Wheel Holidays. However, if you cannot see what you are looking for, please contact us.

Question Curve